Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
The Corpse-Rat King by Lee Battersby
Add to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

The Corpse-Rat King

Best Seller
The Corpse-Rat King by Lee Battersby
Mass Market Paperback $7.99
Aug 28, 2012 | ISBN 9780857662873

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Aug 28, 2012 | ISBN 9780857662880

    Buy from Other Retailers:

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

“The line between the dead and the living is a very thin one in Battersby’s original macabre debut. Marius Helles and his apprentice, Gerd, are looting bodies on a battlefield when they come upon the prize of a lifetime–the body of the King of Scorby. Marius steals his crown, but in short order Gerd is killed by soldiers, and Marius is dragged to the land of the dead by a talking corpse. It seems that the deceased are in need of a new monarch, and since Marius is holding the dead king’s crown, they assume he must be the rightful ruler. Marius is desperate to relinquish the throne, but his lifeless subjects will release him only if he secures for them a new king. Unsure whether he’s alive or dead, Marius sets out corpse-robbing and cardsharping his way across the land to secure a sovereign before it’s too late. With an undead Gerd as his guide, Marius befriends the skeleton of a mad king, gets marooned on a tropical island, and terrifies old friends and enemies with his occasional…deadness. Wry, absurdist, and pleasantly cynical, Battersby’s debut will appeal to fans of Scott Lynch’s The Lies of Locke Lamora and Terry Pratchett’s Going Postal. (Aug.)” – Publishers Weekly Starred Review


“A stunning debut novel, well-crafted and grotesquely inventive. With its madcap story, unforgettable characters and fine balance between humour and pathos, The Corpse-Rat King ticks all the boxes. Fans of Joe Abercrombie will love this.”
– Juliet Marillier, award-winning author of the Sevenwaters series and Bridei’s Chronicles

 

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Lee Battersby
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top