Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

A Song for Issy Bradley

Best Seller
A Song for Issy Bradley by Carys Bray
Ebook
Aug 12, 2014 | 352 Pages
  • Ebook $7.99

    Aug 12, 2014 | 352 Pages

Product Details

Praise

“I loved A Song for Issy Bradley. It’s wry, smart . . . moving and comforting. . . . A terrific book [about] faith, and what happens to that faith when the unimaginable happens.”—Nick Hornby, The Believer

The Book of Mormon with an English accent.”New York Post
 
“[Carys] Bray fully inhabits each of her characters, displaying an admirable range of narrative talent rare in a first novel. Fans of The Lonely Polygamist and Where’d You Go, Bernadette will savor this thrilling glimpse behind the scenes of a family in crisis.”Booklist (starred review)
 
“With wit and compassion, plus insider knowledge of the Mormon way of life, Bray exposes the raw emotions of a family in crisis. An intriguing and heartbreaking story from an author to watch.”Library Journal
 
“An absorbing, beautifully written debut novel with surprising moments of humor.”Kirkus Reviews

“In this wry, original, generous-spirited debut novel, members of a family come to terms with grief, each in his or her own way. They wrestle with belief and disillusionment, desire and hopelessness, pervasive sorrow and moments of transcendent joy. The result is riveting, powerful, and quietly devastating. Quite simply, A Song for Issy Bradley took my breath away.”—Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train
 
A Song for Issy Bradley is that rarest of things—a book that is beautiful, tender, and a page-turner. Carys Bray made me fall hopelessly in love with each and every one of the Bradleys.”—Carol Rifka Brunt, New York Times bestselling author of Tell the Wolves I’m Home
 
“I cannot remember the last time I have felt so emotionally invested in a novel. It is brilliant and profoundly moving, utterly compelling and almost unbearably real.”—Nathan Filer, author of The Shock of the Fall
 
“Carys Bray is a strikingly original new voice in fiction. I loved this tender, moving, funny, and deeply truthful story about a family and a faith tested to the breaking point.”—Helen Dunmore, author of The Lie and The Siege
 
“I loved A Song for Issy Bradley. With courage, warmth, and intelligence, Carys Bray sweetly and subtly breaks your heart. It’s an incredible debut.”—Charlotte Mendelson, author of Almost English and When We Were Bad

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top