Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List
Empress Game by Rhonda Mason

Empress Game

Best Seller
Empress Game by Rhonda Mason
Paperback $14.95
Jul 14, 2015 | ISBN 9781783295241

Also available from:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Jul 14, 2015 | ISBN 9781783295241

    Also available from:

  • Jul 14, 2015 | ISBN 9781783295265

    Available from:

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

“The action is solid, which is always a delight to see in prose, and I really enjoyed that Mason took the time to show how Shadow’s constant fights would tax her physically.” - The Literary Omnivore

“I love, love, love this book. The Empress Game has everything one could want from a space opera: complex politics, heavy thematic exploration of power and murder, some awesome hand-to-hand combat scenes, and a hell of a female protagonist.” – Kirkus

“The author won me over. I shall certainly be looking for the next book in the trilogy.” – Manhattan Book Review

“One of the most fun books I’ve read all year” – Fangirl Nation 

“Will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games and Jack Campbell books” – Fangtastic Books

“Skillfully told.” –  Forces of Geek

“Kayla is the kind of female character that should be celebrated in novels. She’s strong, devoted, independent and intriguing. It’s almost impossible not to cheer for her.” –  Impedimenta Magazine

“A fresh and original view of an intergalactic empire.” – Paper Droids

“Swift, smooth writing delivers visceral adventure.” –  Blood Shed 

“I highly recommend this debut novel to all space opera fans, and even all science fiction and contemporary thriller fans.” – JLGribble

“Filled with strong women, fighting, and politics, this is a great novel for anyone who wants to immerse themselves in a new universe.  I loved The Empress Game.” – Mugglenet

“I couldn’t put this book down.” – Destiny Falls

“Once I started reading her novel I found I couldn’t put it down.” – Geekstronomy

“This debut novel, the first volume in a trilogy, uses the backdrop of a winner-take-all female gladiatorial contest for the hand of a prince and a seat on the Galactic Ruling Council to tell a story that’s full of political intrigue, corrupt government officials, lost princesses, and unethical scientific experimentation. The forces who think they are good start by cheating—they get a fighting machine body double for their preferred candidate, not realizing that she is the lost princess of a conquered planet. Kayla Reunimon (aka Shadow Panthe) doesn’t share their agenda, but the secret that she would kill for or die to keep throws the group’s plans into chaos. Her aim is to fight, win, and escape, and she doesn’t understand that the best thing she can do to save her people is to continue this charade for the rest of her life. VERDICT This surprisingly complex political and personal narrative is slow to take off, but once it does, the plots, counterplot, and cheating will keep readers on the edge of their seats. Kayla’s complicated loyalties make her an intriguing heroine, and her layered story keeps the reader guessing until the very end. Recommended for space opera and sf romance fans.” – Library Journal Review 

“Mason delivers an old fashioned space opera — passion, politics, and the fate of Empires hanging on the strength and courage of a single woman.  You’ll want to reach immediately for book two.” Tanya Huff, author of A Confederation of Valor
 
“Fast, smart, complex, and fun as hell… one of the best books I’ve read this year. A near-perfect blend of romance, action, and interstellar politics in a well-thought-out and original universe with a tough-as-nails heroine you can’t help but root for.” Rachel Bach, author of Fortune’s Pawn

“A wild ride. The author keeps the reader guessing and just when things seem impossible, more challenges are presented. Kayla is a likeable and exciting heroine and the book was a real pleasure to read.” - SF Reader

“All in all, the Empress Game is the book of the summer!…if I could give the book more than five stars, I would.” - Open Book Society 

“Sophisticated space opera. Psi powers. Holographic princess impersonation. Badass female protagonists who display said badassery in the physical AND political arenas. What else could you possibly ask for?” - The Book Smugglers  

“The Empress Game…is space opera done right, , powered by impressively complex world-building and an intriguing and endearing heroine.” - Barnes & Noble 

“The novel really shines when the fists and the knives come out.” - Skiffy and Fanty 

Back to Top