Click to receive personalized book recommendations daily.
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List
Best Seller
Thirteen Days of Midnight by Leo Hunt
Thirteen Days of Midnight by Leo Hunt
Paperback
Jul 12, 2016 | 336 Pages
See All Formats (1) +
  • Paperback $8.99

    Jul 12, 2016 | 336 Pages | Young Adult

  • Hardcover $13.00

    Aug 25, 2015 | 336 Pages | Young Adult

Product Details

Praise

A well-constructed, truly unique plot and perfect pacing combine to immediately hook readers, who will be invested in Luke’s fate after only a few pages. Luke and Elza are credible and convincing characters: He is funny, likable, and though inexperienced with the paranormal, he is determined. Independent and outspoken Elza shows a spark of her own humor…Fans of Jonathan Stroud’s “Lockwood & Co.” series are certain to appreciate this unusual and enjoyable title.
—School Library Journal (starred review)

With well-drawn characters, some truly creepy ghouls, and entertaining banter, this is a self-assured debut that’s as funny as it is terrifying.
—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Hunt keeps tension high but balances it with humor, including a wonderful short episode written from a dog’s point of view. The northern English setting adds atmosphere, and Luke’s narration is both disarming and amusing. A sprightly, original story with good twists.
—Kirkus Reviews

Hunt builds suspense as the days to Halloween melt away and creates a sharp contrast between the mundane details of Luke’s pedestrian school life with the fresh horror he sees as the veil between the living and the dead grows ever thinner. A solid pick for paranormal enthusiasts.
—Booklist Online

The frequent dark humor of Luke’s narration is balanced by moments of true suspense and satisfyingly complex relationships between Luke and his parents, Elza, the Host, and even his dog (whose touching perspective is revealed in an unexpected way).
—The Horn Book

Offer this to ghost fans who don’t mind some serious creepiness and a sturdy amount of gore mixed in with their spectral hauntings.
—Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Older teens who gravitate towards horror/thriller titles will enjoy this novel.
—School Library Connection

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top