Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

The Wonder Spot

Best Seller
The Wonder Spot by Melissa Bank
Paperback $16.00
May 30, 2006 | ISBN 9780143037217

Also available from:

See All Formats (2) +
  • May 30, 2006 | ISBN 9780143037217

    Also available from:

  • May 30, 2006 | ISBN 9781101191811

    Available from:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Product Details

Praise

Praise for The Wonder Spot:

“What Austen did for marriage, Melissa Bank does for serial monogamy . . . She has a light touch that is both deft and devastating – her characters come to life in a brush stroke and yet are not easily dismissed from memory.  This book is a lovely, funny, melancholy stroll through twenty years of a woman’s life – and when I finished it, I wished I was getting twenty more.” —Zadie Smith

“The tone [of The Wonder Spot] is perfect, the stories are perfect, the characters are perfect and every word, seemingly so casually chosen, is perfect . . . Bank is incredibly clever with structure . . . As a lesson in literary compression, how to condense a story without sacrificing emotion, it is breathtaking.” —The Guardian

“Prodigiously talented, mordantly wry and wise, Bank offers […] irresistible reading.” —San Francisco Chronicle

“A five course meal:  loaded with pleasure, but offering enough protein and complex carbohydrates to satisfy both body and soul . . . Bank mixes sadness with humor while leavening difficulty with laughter to create a rich narrative that gratifies on many levels.” —The Los Angeles Times 

“Bank’s  bittersweet, tremendously winning return [is] . . . enthralling and engaging.” —Jennifer Weiner, Entertainment Weekly
 
“Marvelous . . . Bank’s sharp wit and streamlined prose serve Sophie’s exquisitely honed female sensibility, placing the author squarely in the tradition of Clare Booth Luce and Nora Ephron.  Like them, Bank possesses a prodigious talent for snappy one liners, and her self-deprecating anecdotes belie intelligence and sophistication.” —The Washington Post

Back to Top