Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
The Wonder Spot by Melissa Bank
Add to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

The Wonder Spot

Best Seller
The Wonder Spot by Melissa Bank
Paperback $16.00
May 30, 2006 | ISBN 9780143037217

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • May 30, 2006 | ISBN 9780143037217

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • May 30, 2006 | ISBN 9781101191811

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Product Details

Praise

Praise for The Wonder Spot:

“What Austen did for marriage, Melissa Bank does for serial monogamy . . . She has a light touch that is both deft and devastating – her characters come to life in a brush stroke and yet are not easily dismissed from memory.  This book is a lovely, funny, melancholy stroll through twenty years of a woman’s life – and when I finished it, I wished I was getting twenty more.” —Zadie Smith

“The tone [of The Wonder Spot] is perfect, the stories are perfect, the characters are perfect and every word, seemingly so casually chosen, is perfect . . . Bank is incredibly clever with structure . . . As a lesson in literary compression, how to condense a story without sacrificing emotion, it is breathtaking.” —The Guardian

“Prodigiously talented, mordantly wry and wise, Bank offers […] irresistible reading.” —San Francisco Chronicle

“A five course meal:  loaded with pleasure, but offering enough protein and complex carbohydrates to satisfy both body and soul . . . Bank mixes sadness with humor while leavening difficulty with laughter to create a rich narrative that gratifies on many levels.” —The Los Angeles Times 

“Bank’s  bittersweet, tremendously winning return [is] . . . enthralling and engaging.” —Jennifer Weiner, Entertainment Weekly
 
“Marvelous . . . Bank’s sharp wit and streamlined prose serve Sophie’s exquisitely honed female sensibility, placing the author squarely in the tradition of Clare Booth Luce and Nora Ephron.  Like them, Bank possesses a prodigious talent for snappy one liners, and her self-deprecating anecdotes belie intelligence and sophistication.” —The Washington Post

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Melissa Bank
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top