Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
Island of Bones by Imogen Robertson
Add to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

Island of Bones

Best Seller
Island of Bones by Imogen Robertson
Ebook
Oct 11, 2012 | ISBN 9781101601303

Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Oct 11, 2012 | ISBN 9781101601303

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Product Details

Praise

Praise for Island of Bones:

“Robertson’s superior third historical featuring anatomist Gabriel Crowther and widow Harriet Westerman (after 2012’s Anatomy of Murder) makes the most of its revelations about Crowther’s backstory . . . First-rate prose and the deepening relationship between the two leads bode well for the longevity of this series.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Set aside quality time to fully enjoy this richly layered, engaging historical series; a great suggestion for fans of Anne Perry, Charles Finch, and C.S. Harris.”

Library Journal

“An altogether satisfying historical mystery.”

Booklist

“[An] audacious mix of cultural gloss and uncomplicated, straight-ahead storytelling. The multi-layered nuance of Peter Ackroyd and the buttonholing narrative grasp of Stephen King are stirred into the mix.”

The Independent (UK)

“A new Imogen Robertson book is fast becoming something of an event. …this follow-up does not disappoint.  As ever, the characters are enticing and the plot absorbing. If you’ve not read the previous books, do not despair–they each stand alone. But if you have time on your hands, now is your chance to catch up.”
The Daily Mail (UK)



Praise for Anatomy of Murder:

“Memorable prose, strong and unusual leads, a sophisticated plot with several unexpected turns, and an accurate portrayal of the period all make this a winner.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Robertson’s language is spry . . . her scene-setting broad and detailed, her prose gracefully pressed into the service of a serpentine plot.”
Financial Times (UK)

“In the overcrowded field of historical fiction, Robertson has the smarts comfortably to outpace most of her rivals.”

The Independent (UK)



Praise for Instruments of Darkness:

“A sensitive melodrama. . . . Robertson’s enjoyment of the period and her characters is infectious.”

The New York Times Book Review (Editor’s Choice)

 “A thoroughly engaging novel, with rich prose and an intricate, suspenseful plot, with melodramatic, Gothic touches in perfect keeping with the historical period. Robertson has already written another Westerman/Crowther mystery. . . . let us hope for many more.”

Associated Press

“Every so often I encounter a book that makes me think with envy: ‘How I wish I could have written this story!’ Instruments of Darkness is just that book—poetic, enchanting, and chillingly memorable. Imogen Robertson is an exquisite writer, and this is an extraordinary novel.”

Tess Gerritsen, author of The Silent Girl

“Mayhem runs amok in this period thriller. [Robertson] pulls out all the stops. . . a roaring soap opera of a novel.”

The Washington Times

“Impressive . . . A ripping homage to Dickens, Austen and Conan Doyle, Instruments of Darkness will keep you up at night, and then, like me, waiting for the sequel.”

Seattle Times

“The book works splendidly as a period thriller, with complicated leads and informative details that illuminate 18th-century England for modern readers.”

Publishers Weekly

“This debut is getting some play and should well serve lovers of historical suspense.” 

Library Journal

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Imogen Robertson
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top