Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

Buffalo Trail

Best Seller
Buffalo Trail by Jeff Guinn
Paperback
Sep 06, 2016 | 448 Pages
See All Formats (1) +
  • Paperback $16.00

    Sep 06, 2016 | 448 Pages

  • Ebook $11.99

    Oct 06, 2015 | 416 Pages

Product Details

Praise

Praise for Buffalo Trail

“Guinn makes lively characters of historical buffalo hunters, and his imaginative take booms like a Sharps .50 as cultures collide across the Cimarron River…Guinn’s research brings to life the daily lives of the Comanche…Few Westerns reach the level of Lonesome Dove, but Guinn’s latest is a better, more rambunctious tale than the trilogy’s opener.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Full of historical notable figures from the Old West, this second volume in Guinn’s trilogy not only provides a buoyant narrative but also several lessons in Western history. This title is so well constructed that it could stand alone (for readers new to the trilogy). Guinn skillfully ties his carefully constructed prolog outlining the Massacre at Sand Creek (1864) to a lone female warrior he imagines at the Second Battle at Adobe Walls.”—Library Journal

“A grand effort, and Quanah and his bogus medicine man, Isatai, are an entertaining pair.”—Booklist

More Praise for the Cash McLendon Series

“[A] rousing story of revenge….Plenty of action for genre western fans but enough meat for a broader cut of historical-fiction readers.”—Booklist

“This is what Guinn does: Instead of filling his books with the mythology of the Old West, much of which has no basis in fact, he goes for authenticity and reveals what life in those times really was like.”—Fort Worth Star-Telegram

“Perfect for fans of John Wayne and Zane Grey…A worthy read for any fan of the Old West. Lively characters, authentic Old West settings, and great storytelling highlight this tale…Silver City is a rousing Western adventure, and one this ol’ cowboy fan found very satisfying.”—The Oklahoman

“An affable bit of frontier mythmaking.”—The Washington Post

“[Guinn] knows how to dig into the past…an absorbing, informative and entertaining tale of life, love, hope and ambition in the American West.”—Dallas Morning News
 
“A worthy addition to the western genre….Catnip for Lonesome Dove fans”—The Seattle Times
 
“Will delight historical fiction fans longing for the return of classic Westerns. This entertaining outing is sure to keep the saloon doors swinging for more entries in the genre.”—Library Journal

“The Wild West comes alive in this novel of prospectors, desolate cavalry posts, rotgut saloons and Apache raiders….The plot is classic…Good fun.”—Kirkus Reviews

“A trip to Glorious, Arizona, in Jeff Guinn’s new western novel is like a cool draft beer after a long, hot day on a dusty trail.”—New York Times bestselling author C. J. Box
 
“If, like me, you’ve been waiting for the next Louis L’Amour or Zane Grey, the good news is his name is Jeff Guinn.”—Craig Johnson, New York Times bestselling author of the Walt Longmire mysteries, the basis of A&E’s hit series Longmire

Back to Top