Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List
The Changing Faces of Jesus by Geza Vermes

The Changing Faces of Jesus

Best Seller
The Changing Faces of Jesus by Geza Vermes
Paperback $22.00
Feb 26, 2002 | ISBN 9780142196021

Also available from:

  • Feb 26, 2002 | ISBN 9780142196021

    Also available from:

Product Details


“A bold effort to sift out the ‘real’ Jesus from the theological embellishment in the New Testament that (according to Vermes) turned him into a divine persona.” —The Washington Post

Geza Vermes is one of the most distinguished living scholars of ancient Judaism. While he has specialised in the study of the Dead Sea Scrolls, in which his reputation is unsurpassed, he has an impressive command of all the Jewish sources from antiquity. Those who want to understand the historical Jesus and the evolving ways in which he was perceived in the following decades can do no better than to read his book. It is the masterly statement of a great scholar who has spent decades considering his topic, and whose work is gentle, irenic, relatively unargumentative, and written with exceptional skill … in Vermes Jesus has found his best Jewish interpreter.”–The New York Review of Books

“Sound research and passionate engagement with the subject make this a useful volume. The straightforward exposition of Johannine and Pauline interpretations of Jesus sheds light on the Jesus figure. A comprehensive study, certain to evoke both critique and praise.” —Hal Warlick High Point University, NC

Table Of Contents

The Changing Faces of Jesus – Geza Vermes Prologue: From Christ to Jesus
1. John: The Odd Man Out Among the Evangelists
2. The Jesus of John: Messiah Figure or Stranger from Heaven
3. Paul: The Odd Man Out Among the Apostles
4. The Christ of Paul: Son of God and Universal Redeemer of Mankind
5. The Jesus of the Acts of the Apostles: Prophet, Lord, and Christ
6. The Jesus of the Synoptic Gospels: Charismatic Healer and Teacher and Eschatological Enthusiast
7. Beneath the Gospels: The Real Jesus
8. The Real Jesus at the Dawn of the Third Millennium
Epilogue: A Dream
Chronological Table
Select Bibliography

Back to Top