Get a FREE Books of the Moment  sampler!
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List
Best Seller
Beneath a Ruthless Sun by Gilbert King

Beneath a Ruthless Sun

Beneath a Ruthless Sun by Gilbert King
Apr 24, 2018 | 432 Pages
See All Formats (4) +
  • Paperback $30.00

    Apr 24, 2018 | 640 Pages

  • Hardcover $28.00

    Apr 24, 2018 | 432 Pages

  • Ebook $14.99

    Apr 24, 2018 | 432 Pages

  • CD $50.00

    Apr 24, 2018 | 900 Minutes

  • Audiobook Download $25.00

    Apr 24, 2018 | 888 Minutes

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Product Details


“The perversions of justice under Jim Crow chart a devious path in this labyrinthine true crime saga… Packed with riveting characters and startling twists, King’s narrative unfolds like a Southern gothic noir probing the recesses of a poisoned society.” Publisher’s Weekly (starred)

“A spellbinding true story of racism, privilege, and official corruption…By turns sobering, frightening, and thrilling, this meticulous account of the power and tenacity of officially sanctioned racism recalls a dark era that America is still struggling to leave behind.” Kirkus Reviews (starred)

 “This book is every bit as gripping as the author’s Pulitzer-winning Devil in the Grove…Gripping history, vividly told.”Booklist (starred)

“Compelling, insightful and important, Gilbert King exposes the corruption of racial bigotry and animus that shadows a community, a state and a nation.  A fascinating examination of an injustice story all too familiar and still largely ignored, an engaging and essential read.” —Bryan Stevenson, author of Just Mercy
“In the tradition of Harper Lee, Gilbert King tells the story of a small southern town corrupted by racism, a perverse genteel honor, and utter disdain for poor “crackers.”  Three women stand out in this gripping tale of a falsely accused man: an unrelenting reporter, a mother, and a victim doubly victimized as a pawn of others’ ambitions.  In deftly unraveling a tragic mixture of lies, violence, and hatred, King powerfully reminds us how the unpalatable beliefs of 1957 haunt us still.” —Nancy Isenberg, author of White Trash

“Gilbert King’s stunning chronicle of race, sex and power in fatal combination yields so many truly tragic turns that it’s almost uncanny when goodness endures. With breakneck drama and cold clarity, Beneath a Ruthless Sun captures the sultry particulars of a uniquely charged place and time as well as a universal truth about how difficult it is for humans in the aggregate to do the right thing.” 
Diane McWhorter, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Carry Me Home: Birmingham, Alabama—the Climactic Battle of the Civil Rights Revolution

Praise for Devil in the Grove:

“Must read, cannot put down history.” The New York Times

“A taut, intensely readable narrative.” –Boston Globe

“A powerful and well-told drama of Southern injustice.” The Chicago Tribune

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top