Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List
The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern

The Starless Sea

Best Seller
The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern
Hardcover
Nov 05, 2019 | ISBN 9780385541213
See All Formats (4) +
  • Paperback $31.00

    Nov 05, 2019 | ISBN 9780593106488

  • Hardcover $28.95

    Nov 05, 2019 | ISBN 9780385541213

  • Ebook $14.99

    Nov 05, 2019 | ISBN 9780385541220

  • CD $50.00

    Nov 05, 2019 | 1110 Minutes

  • Audiobook Download $27.50

    Nov 05, 2019 | 1119 Minutes

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from The Starless Sea

Product Details

Praise

“Erin Morgenstern has magic to make… the author returns with a new fantastical fairy-tale for grown-ups… Comparisons to the likes of Tolkien, Carroll, and C.S. Lewis abound. The Starless Sea poses big questions about stories — the ones we read, the ones we live, and the ones we tell ourselves. And at the heart of her work lies the themes that have provoked those comparisons: redemption, sacrifice, fate, time, reincarnation…. We’re willing to bet the embrace of this deeper, darker, more complex follow-up novel might be close to a sure thing. As Morgenstern posits, The Starless Sea is a door to another world — one just waiting for readers to open it.—Maureen Lee Lenker, Entertainment Weekly


“A magnificent quest, a sense of unfolding adventure and danger, gold-wrought fantasy, and endless provocation on what storytelling really means.” Library Journal, starred review

“A high-wire feat of metatextual derring-do [and] a stunning array of linked fables, myths and origin stories. . . . It is exquisitely pleasurable to watch the gears of this epic fantasy turn once they’re set in motion. As in The Night Circus, Morgenstern is at her best when she imagines worlds and rooms and parties in vivid detail. . . . This novel is a love letter to readers as much as an invitation: Come and see how much magic is left in the world. Fans of Neil Gaiman and V.E. Schwab, Kelly Link and Susanna Clarke will want to heed the call. An ambitious and bewitching gem of a book with mystery and passion inscribed on every page.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Morgenstern’s new fantasy epic is a puzzlebox of a book, full of meta-narratives and small folkloric tales that will delight readers. . . . Morgenstern uses poetic, honey-like prose to tell a story that plays with the very concept of what we expect and want from our stories. . . . She trusts her readers to follow along and speculate, wonder and make leaps themselves . . . giving the book a mythic quality that will stick with readers long after they put it down. The massive legion of readers who loved Morgenstern’s debut will be clamoring to recapture the magic of that reading experience.” Booklist, starred review

“This love letter to bibliophiles is dreamlike and uncanny, grounded in deeply felt emotion, and absolutely thrilling.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

“A page-turner. . . . It’s unlikely [The Night Circus fans] will be disappointed by this sweeping follow-up, which unfolds an epic romance within a secret underground world of lost cities, handsome pirates and endless puzzles to be solved.” Entertainment Weekly

“[A] gorgeously written epic love story, filled with magic and mystery.” —Popsugar

“A spellbinding novel. . . . I could not put it down, and when I finished, I turned immediately back to the first page so I wouldn’t have to leave this magical world. If you believe in the power of stories to transcend time and space, to marry love and fate, read this book!” —Angie Kim, author of Miracle Creek

Back to Top