Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
Send for Me by Lauren Fox

Send for Me

Best Seller
Send for Me by Lauren Fox
Ebook
Feb 02, 2021 | ISBN 9781101947814

Available from:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Feb 02, 2021 | ISBN 9781101947807

    Also available from:

  • Feb 02, 2021 | ISBN 9781101947814

    Available from:

Product Details

Praise

An Indie Next Great Read
A Parade Best 2021 Releases to Read This Winter

“A sense of foreboding shadows this bittersweet intergenerational tale of love and trauma… Subtle, striking, and punctuated by snippets of family letters.. Fox has imbued this deeply personal, ultimately hopeful novel, which she explains in an author’s note is based on her own family’s story, with emotion, empathy, and an essential understanding of the complicated bonds between generations and the importance of reckoning with the past in order to embrace the future.  
An intimate, insightful, intricately rendered story of intergenerational trauma and love.”
Kirkus, starred

“Fox deftly moves between generations as she illuminates the ways that choices echo through the lives of those who came after. This thoughtful, character-driven exploration of the unbreakable bonds of motherhood will appeal to fans of Alice Hoffman and Elizabeth Berg.”
Booklist

Send For Me  is a rare and beautiful novel. In luminous prose, with great economy and precision, Lauren Fox twines together two stories: one that explores both the menace and the day-to-day ordinariness of life in Germany under Hitler, and its aftermath, and one that captures the yearning and intensity of youth in the present day. While sorrow may be inevitable, Fox seems to say, life is also threaded with hope and joy and human connection. I loved this book.”
—Christina Baker Kline, author of Orphan Train

Send For Me is stunning in its tender poignancy. A beautifully told story of intergenerational loves and sorrows, the long shadow of memory, and how hope can repair the heartache woven into a family’s DNA.”
⁠—Jennifer Rosner, author of The Yellow Bird Sings

“Imbued with lyrical prose, Send For Me is a beautiful tale of heartbreak and renewal, and of the love and loss we carry with us, generation after generation.”
⁠—Georgia Hunter, author of We Were the Lucky Ones

“Spanning generations and continents, from pre-WWII Germany to current day midwestern America, Send For Me is a richly imagined testament to the ties that bind: the intricate web of familial duty, the profound love between mothers and daughters, and the tension between honoring one’s heritage while not being defined by it. Lauren Fox’s first historical novel is moving, heartfelt, and filled with love.”
⁠—Whitney Scharer, author of Age of Light

“Fox satisfyingly brings this story of love and desire full circle, as Clare and Ruth reflect on what it means to be both a mother and a child in the darkest of times. This tender and deeply inspired story will move readers.”
⁠—Publishers Weekly

Be the first to know!
More from Lauren Fox and book picks sent right to your inbox
More from Lauren Fox and book picks sent right to your inbox
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top