Get a FREE Books of the Moment  sampler!
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List
Best Seller
Our Towns by James Fallows and Deborah Fallows

Our Towns

Our Towns by James Fallows and Deborah Fallows
Hardcover
May 08, 2018 | 432 Pages
See All Formats (2) +
  • Hardcover $28.95

    May 08, 2018 | 432 Pages

  • Ebook $14.99

    May 08, 2018 | 432 Pages

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Product Details

Praise

Our Towns will become a classic, joining the ranks of American odysseys from De Tocqueville to Dos Passos. The landscape unfurls beneath us; the language of different regions echoes in our ears. Most important, this book is a tonic for what ails us as a nation, a captivating story of energy and renewal across the land.” —Anne-Marie Slaughter, President & CEO, New America

“In the tradition of John Steinbeck and Studs Terkel, the Fallows have crisscrossed the country in search of the extraordinary strength and character of ordinary people and places. What they’ve found—in towns we know and others off the beaten path—should give us all great hope for the future.” —California Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr.

“An illuminating trip through ‘parts of the country generally missed by the media spotlight’….Writing with lively curiosity and open minds, the couple have created textured portraits of 29 American cities, from Sioux Falls, South Dakota, to Allentown, Pennsylvania, and Eastport, Maine, to Redlands, California…. A well-reported, optimistic portrait of America’s future.” Kirkus Reviews
 

“An eye-opening, keenly optimistic reminder of the strength of America’s vital center.” —Publishers Weekly

Table Of Contents

 Authors’ Note ix

Introduction: 2017: A Last Trip West 3

2013
Sioux Falls, South Dakota 21
Rapid City, South Dakota 37
Holland, Michigan 41
Burlington, Vermont 50
Eastport, Maine 61

2014
Greenville, South Carolina 81
St. Marys, Georgia 101
Columbus, Mississippi 110
Caddo Lake, Louisiana-Texas 132
In the Air 140
Columbus, Ohio 144
Louisville, Kentucky 169
Allentown, Pennsylvania 176
In the Air 193
Duluth, Minnesota 200
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 214
Charleston, West Virginia 218

2015
In the Air 225
Guymon, Oklahoma 230
Ajo, Arizona 233
San Bernardino, California 248
Riverside, California 265
Redlands, California 274
Fresno, California 286
Winters, California 305
Bend, Oregon 315
Redmond and Prineville, Oregon 333
Chester, Montana 338
The American Prairie Reserve, Montana 343

2016
Dodge City, Kansas 351
Garden City and Spearville, Kansas 371
Erie, Pennsylvania 376

What We Saw and What We Learned 395
10½ Signs of Civic Success 401
 
Acknowledgments 411

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top