Get a FREE Books of the Moment  sampler!
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List
Best Seller
Being Fishkill by Ruth Lehrer

Being Fishkill

Being Fishkill by Ruth Lehrer
Hardcover
Nov 14, 2017 | 320 Pages
  • Hardcover $17.99

    Nov 14, 2017 | 320 Pages | Young Adult

Product Details

Praise

A desperately sad story of profound abuse is softened somewhat by the highly intelligent Duck-Duck and her loving mother. But neither love nor grief is linear. Fishkill’s guilt, anger, and abandonment only intensify as the story unfolds, leaving her desperate and unsure where to turn…Abuse is eclipsed by love in this moving novel.
—Kirkus Reviews

Lehrer pulls at heartstrings in her thought-provoking debut…a complex and well-plotted work.
—Booklist

In Lehrer's engrossing first novel, 12-year-old Carmel Fishkill (named after a highway exit sign her mother, Keely, glimpsed while giving birth in the back seat of a car) decides that starting seventh grade in a new school is an opportunity to toughen up her image…The plot, as well as Duck-Duck and Fishkill's friendship, twists and turns as Keely reappears and disappears, until a tragic development changes the entire tone of the book, providing a bittersweet resolution.
—Publishers Weekly

Lehrer's debut is well written and touches upon tough subjects such as bullying, abuse, and teen pregnancy in a lyrical but age-appropriate way. Fishkill lives a hard life, but the book speaks to how schools and institutions handle students in poverty. A great purchase for public libraries.
—School Library Journal

Poet Lehrer's YA debut is a beautifully written and authentic look at rural poverty, and a great choice for fans of Kody Keplinger's Run and Sarah Nicole Lemon's Done Dirt Cheap.
—B&N Teen Blog

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top