Get a FREE Books of the Moment  sampler!
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List

The Master Key

The Master Key by Masako Togawa
Paperback
Mar 27, 2018 | 192 Pages
See All Formats (1) +
  • Paperback $13.95

    Mar 27, 2018 | 192 Pages

  • Ebook $9.99

    Mar 27, 2018 | 192 Pages

Product Details

Praise

“An outstanding puzzle mystery… The gradual, logical, but still surprising unfolding of the Russian nesting doll of a plot is a delight.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Fans of P.D. James, Robert Barnard and other literate writers in the genre will welcome this prize-winning author’s first work… Superbly crafted and riveting from start to finish.” — Kirkus Reviews

“A twisted locked-room fable, made creepily seductive by masterful portrayals of the residents’ eccentricities and hints of malevolent supernatural forces.” — Booklist Online

“Extraordinarily atmospheric Japanese thriller … Miss Togawa writes with economy, subtlety and an astonishing feel for time, mood, and the eccentricities of loneliness. An eerie gem.” — Marcel Berlins, The Times

“As fascinating a weird yarn of mystery as you’ll find… One word sums it up – superb!” — LA Times

“If you seek a wickedly original, clever crime novel, a brilliant exploration of the weaknesses of the human mind, I strongly recommend you lose yourself in Togawa’s acutely portrayed sketch.” — Thrillers Books Journal

“Starts out on a high note of tension and stays that way up until the very end.” — Crime Segments

“A clever, creepy story.” — Mail on Sunday

“The PD James of Japan.” — Times Literary Supplement

“A bizarre yarn of guilty secrets among the sad, mad and surprisingly bad occupants of Tokyo’s K Apartments for ladies only.” — Sunday Times Crime Club 

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top