Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

The Master Key

Best Seller
The Master Key by Masako Togawa
Paperback
Nov 23, 2021 | ISBN 9781782277729

Pre-order from:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Nov 23, 2021 | ISBN 9781782277729

    Pre-order from:

  • Mar 27, 2018 | ISBN 9781782273868

    Buy from Other Retailers:

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

“An outstanding puzzle mystery… The gradual, logical, but still surprising unfolding of the Russian nesting doll of a plot is a delight.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Fans of P.D. James, Robert Barnard and other literate writers in the genre will welcome this prize-winning author’s first work… Superbly crafted and riveting from start to finish.” — Kirkus Reviews

“A twisted locked-room fable, made creepily seductive by masterful portrayals of the residents’ eccentricities and hints of malevolent supernatural forces.” — Booklist Online

“Extraordinarily atmospheric Japanese thriller … Miss Togawa writes with economy, subtlety and an astonishing feel for time, mood, and the eccentricities of loneliness. An eerie gem.” — Marcel Berlins, The Times

“As fascinating a weird yarn of mystery as you’ll find… One word sums it up – superb!” — LA Times

“If you seek a wickedly original, clever crime novel, a brilliant exploration of the weaknesses of the human mind, I strongly recommend you lose yourself in Togawa’s acutely portrayed sketch.” — Thrillers Books Journal

“Masako Togawa’s works have been recently reissued by Pushkin Press, and we can’t thank them enough!” — Crime Reads

“Starts out on a high note of tension and stays that way up until the very end.” — Crime Segments

“A clever story… If you like creepy this will definitely be right up your street.” — Crime Review

“A clever, creepy story.” — Mail on Sunday

“The PD James of Japan.” — Times Literary Supplement

“A bizarre yarn of guilty secrets among the sad, mad and surprisingly bad occupants of Tokyo’s K Apartments for ladies only.” — Sunday Times Crime Club 

“Slickly-readable… jaw-dropping moments… Sharply crafted plotting … Is Masako Togawa Japan’s answer to P.D. James? James should be so lucky.” — South China Morning Post

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Masako Togawa
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top