Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

Count Me In

Best Seller
Count Me In by Varsha Bajaj
Hardcover
Aug 27, 2019 | ISBN 9780525517245
See All Formats (2) +
  • Hardcover $16.99

    Aug 27, 2019 | ISBN 9780525517245 | Middle Grade (10 and up)

  • Ebook $9.99

    Aug 27, 2019 | ISBN 9780525517252 | Middle Grade (10 and up)

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from Count Me In

Product Details

Praise

Count Me In is a gem of a book both funny and heartbreaking in equal measure. With its deeply moving portrayal of the healing power of empathy, this is an important and necessary story.”—Aisha Saeed, author of the New York Times bestseller Amal Unbound
 
“It wouldn’t surprise me at all if this heartfelt novel started a movement of its own! Readers will want to stand up and cheer for Karina and Chris and Papa, and shout to every corner of the world, ‘COUNT ME IN!’”—Kathi Appelt, author of the Newbery Honor winner The Underneath

“Compassionate, relatable characters. The story celebrates resilience, the power of community, and even the benefits of social media during a time when hate crimes against the Indian Diaspora are on the rise. The alternating chapters between Karina and Chris show that Americans come in all colors. Karina’s message, that we are stronger together, will easily resonate with readers.”—Booklist

“Karina and Chris draw on their friendship, their families, and the unexpectedly unifying power of social media for strength against fear and hatred. Fast-paced first-person narration alternates between Karina and Chris. This accessible read tackles weighty issues like racism and hatred, while the warmth of the growing friendship among Karina, Chris, and Papa carries readers through the book’s stressful conflicts to its satisfying conclusion. A solid recommendation for fans of books like Hena Khan’s Amina’s Voice and Gita Varadarajan and Sarah Weeks’s Save Me a Seat.”—School Library Journal

Back to Top