Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
The Many Masks of Andy Zhou by Jack Cheng
Add The Many Masks of Andy Zhou to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

The Many Masks of Andy Zhou

Best Seller
The Many Masks of Andy Zhou by Jack Cheng
Paperback $9.99
Apr 30, 2024 | ISBN 9780525553830

Preorder from:

See All Formats (3) +
  • $9.99

    Apr 30, 2024 | ISBN 9780525553830 | Middle Grade (10 and up)

    Preorder from:

  • $17.99

    Jun 06, 2023 | ISBN 9780525553823 | Middle Grade (10 and up)

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Jun 06, 2023 | ISBN 9780525553847 | Middle Grade (10 and up)

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Jun 06, 2023 | ISBN 9780593680810 | Middle Grade (10 and up)

    479 Minutes

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from The Many Masks of Andy Zhou

Product Details

Praise

* A New York Public Library Best Book of the Year *

“This book sings with beautiful writing and rich detail. Seeing Andy come into his own is a joy and a journey.” —Tae Keller, Newbery Award-winning author of When You Trap a Tiger

“The Many Masks of Andy Zhou is a brilliant, heartfelt story of self-discovery. Andy faces challenges that Cheng deftly tackles without ever weighing down the story or pausing its momentum. . . . Complex, earnest, [and] authentic.” —Shelf Awareness (starred review)

“There’s an aching poignancy [here]. This moving novel about self-discovery will resonate with kids navigating the shifting waters of middle school.” BCCB

“Cheng’s comedic timing and poignant use of metaphor make it easy to picture Andy’s anxiety and self-consciousness, [and] rich descriptions abound of Andy’s Chinese and Jameel’s Chaldean cultures . . . A beautiful, contemplative novel that will stay with readers. Recommended for fans of Erin Entrada Kelly and Nicole Melleby.” School Library Journal

“This thoughtful novel beautifully and naturally depicts Chinese American family life and the first year of middle school. [It] explores necessary topics and productively packages them in a great story about friendship, forgiveness, and family.” —Common Sense Media

“Readers will find a friend in Andy—a kind-hearted kid trying to find his footing while caring for those around him. Andy contains multitudes, like all of us. Another beautiful book by Jack Cheng.” —Erin Entrada Kelly, Newbery Award-winning author of Hello, Universe

“Beautifully written and contemplative, [full of] complexity and nuance.” —Book Riot

“Andy’s quiet courage and budding artistry have readers cheering him on as he searches to define himself and learns there are no boundaries to who we are—and who we can become. With honesty and gentle humor, Jack Cheng explores the joys and heartaches of growing up.” —Paula Yoo, National Book Award longlisted-author of From a Whisper to a Rallying Cry

“Cheng draws on personal experience, detailed in an author’s note, to pen this novel of internal and interpersonal tensions that touches on mental health . . . The message of becoming one’s authentic self comes through loud and clear.” Publishers Weekly

“Cheng succeeds in capturing the nuances of shifting relationship dynamics during the vulnerable early years of adolescence, including mental health struggles. . . . The story has a sincere heart that will resonate with tweens as they recognize themselves and their friends in the pages. A perceptive coming-of-age tale that captures the joys and complex anxieties of middle school.” Kirkus




Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Back to Top