Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List
The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae
Hardcover $18.99
Jun 16, 2020 | ISBN 9781984835215

Also available from:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Jun 16, 2020 | ISBN 9781984835215 | Young Adult

    Also available from:

  • Jun 16, 2020 | ISBN 9781984835239 | Young Adult

    Available from:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from The Kinder Poison

Product Details

Praise

★ ”Mae has crafted a fascinating world with a unique magic structure that is wholly believable because of the vibrant characters within it. With characters to love, to hate, and to love to hate, plus a plot full of adventure skillfully woven with suspense, this is a must-purchase for all YA collections.” School Library Journal, starred review

★ ”Zahru’s unexpectedly humorous inner voice, the rich worldbuilding full of political intrigue, a slow-burning romance, and a fantastic set of well-developed characters (both friends and foes) mark this exciting and refreshing tale of power and accountability. A funny, rewarding story for fans of optimistic tales with a bite.” Kirkus, starred review

The Kinder Poison delivers a deadly dose of danger and ancient magic in a cleverly penned fantasy, perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes or Three Dark Crowns. Like a coiled snake, it’s full of wicked surprises.” —Colleen Oakes, bestselling author of the Queen of Hearts series

The Kinder Poison is a heartfelt, magical tale that swept me away like a desert storm.” —Brenda Drake, New York Times bestselling author of Thief of Lies

“A captivating tale of duty versus dreams, woven through with a unique system of magic and a push-pull romance that will have you demanding the sequel. Magically seductive!” —Lori Goldstein, author of Screen Queens and Becoming Jinn

“The best fantasy I’ve read in years. The Kinder Poison will grip you from the very first page and refuse to let go, sweeping you into an unforgettable adventure and leaving you breathless. Get ready for your newest obsession.” —Chelsea Bobulski, author of Remember Me

“Zahru is a witty, engaging narrator whose supernatural skills might be lacking but whose ability to throw out some epic one-linezingers is well honed and highly satisfying. The heirs are surprisingly nuanced as three once-loving siblings pitted against oneanother. A thrilling trip across sandswept dunes with a shocking ending that points to a dramatic sequel.” – BCCB

“A great cross-country race, sibling rivalry, magic gifts (or lack thereof), and unlikely love all come together in a delicious stew of adventure. As in other fantasies, magical ability and ability type help determine someone’s value, but Mae bestows additional complexity on her characters by deliberately exploring the human traits that shape them as well.” — Booklist

“The engaging cast stands out, especially the antagonists, whose well-developed backgrounds ensure sustained narrative tension. Zahru’s amusing mental dialogue and nascent romance complement the fast-paced plot, resulting in an entertaining duology opener.” –Publishers Weekly



Back to Top