Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
The Cruelest Mercy by Natalie Mae
Hardcover $18.99
Jun 15, 2021 | ISBN 9781984835246

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (3) +
  • Jun 14, 2022 | ISBN 9781984835253 | Young Adult

    Pre-order from:

  • Jun 15, 2021 | ISBN 9781984835246 | Young Adult

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Jun 15, 2021 | ISBN 9781984835260 | Young Adult

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Jun 15, 2021 | ISBN 9780593398029 | Young Adult

    753 Minutes

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from The Cruelest Mercy

Product Details

Praise

PRAISE FOR THE CRUELEST MERCY:

★ “In this charming, well-rounded follow-up to The Kinder Poison, Zahru’s entertaining, funny narrative voice continues to engage and balance out the otherwise heavier tone of a story that deals with power dynamics, dark magic, horrific betrayals, and social injustice and that offers a thoughtful examination of just what a ruler should be willing to sacrifice for the greater good. A fantastically rewarding sequel.” Kirkus, starred review


PRAISE FOR THE KINDER POISON:

★ ”Mae has crafted a fascinating world with a unique magic structure that is wholly believable because of the vibrant characters within it. With characters to love, to hate, and to love to hate, plus a plot full of adventure skillfully woven with suspense, this is a must-purchase.” SLJ, starred review

★ ”Zahru’s unexpectedly humorous inner voice, the rich worldbuilding full of political intrigue, a slow-burning romance, and a fantastic set of well-developed characters (both friends and foes) mark this exciting and refreshing tale of power and accountability. A funny, rewarding story for fans of optimistic tales with a bite.” Kirkus, starred review

The Kinder Poison delivers a deadly dose of danger and ancient magic in a cleverly penned fantasy, perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes or Three Dark Crowns. Like a coiled snake, it’s full of wicked surprises.” —Colleen Oakes, bestselling author of the Queen of Hearts series

“A heartfelt, magical tale that swept me away like a desert storm.” —Brenda Drake, New York Times bestselling author of Thief of Lies

“A captivating tale of duty versus dreams, woven through with a unique system of magic and a push-pull romance that will have you demanding the sequel. Magically seductive!” —Lori Goldstein, author of Screen Queens and Becoming Jinn

“The best fantasy I’ve read in years. The Kinder Poison will grip you from the very first page and refuse to let go, sweeping you into an unforgettable adventure.” —Chelsea Bobulski, author of Remember Me

“A thrilling trip across sandswept dunes with a shocking ending that points to a dramatic sequel.” —BCCB

“A great cross-country race, sibling rivalry, magic gifts (or lack thereof), and unlikely love all come together in a delicious stew of adventure.” Booklist

“The engaging cast stands out, especially the antagonists, whose well-developed backgrounds ensure sustained narrative tension. Zahru’s amusing mental dialogue and nascent romance complement the fast-paced plot, resulting in an entertaining duology opener.” —Publishers Weekly

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Natalie Mae
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top