Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

The Memory Theater

Best Seller
The Memory Theater by Karin Tidbeck
Hardcover $25.95
Feb 16, 2021 | ISBN 9781524748333

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Feb 16, 2021 | ISBN 9781524748333

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Feb 16, 2021 | ISBN 9781524748340

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from The Memory Theater

Product Details

Praise

The Memory Theater is exquisite and astonishing. The prose has a sculpted precision, every sentence both tense as a watch spring and serene as a mountain. Tidbeck skips from horror to wonder to humor like a stone skimming water, and is equally nimble in managing characters; each one steps onto the page fully formed no matter how minor the role.”
—Amal El-Mohtar, The New York Times

“Blending fairy-tale atmosphere with ‘the real world,’ Karin Tidbeck’s The Memory Theater is lovely, dark, and hopeful all at the same time.”  
—Ann Leckie, author of the Imperial Radch Trilogy and The Raven Tower

“At once arrestingly strange and hauntingly familiar, The Memory Theater is a brand new fairy tale you can almost remember hearing before.”
—Lara Elena Donnelly, author of the Amberlough Dossier 

The Memory Theater is a wonder, sparkling with magic and menace. Karin Tidbeck has written a taut, engrossing fable about identity, time and home that wanders through worlds that lie hidden beyond the veil of our own.”
Shawn Vestal, author of Daredevils

“Karin Tidbeck is one of the finest writers of fantastic fiction in the world. The Memory Theater is as intricate and as gorgeous as a Swiss watch, only this watch comes from the realm of the Fae. Tidbeck’s second novel is beguiling, terrifying, and hugely compassionate. A cause for celebration.” 
—Nathan Ballingrud, author of North American Lake Monsters and Wounds
 
“Inventive, surreal, at times violent, [The Memory Theater] has a timeless, durable quality . . . The Memory Theater maintains a kind of gentleness and fascination with the world—childlike and serious at once . . . a strange and ultimately quite delightful tale.”
—Jake Casella Brookins, Chicago Review of Books

“Wonderful . . . [The Memory Theater], boasting no translator, is [Karin Tidbeck’s] own coinage, and it shows a level of unassuming but beautiful prose which many a native speaker might envy . . . Taken all in all, this sophomore novel from Tidbeck is a remarkable accomplishment, full of eerie magic, human pathos, and mystical urgings. I suspect the Memory Theater troupe is applauding themselves for introducing this book to our reality.”
—Paul Di Filippo, Locus

“[The Memory Theater] left me grateful for the experience of reading . . . Rich, multiversal, all-encompassing . . . A nesting doll of interconnected worlds and lives, a kaleidoscopic reflection of our reality, made magical and strange.”
—Molly Templeton, Tor


The Memory Theater is as inventive and eerie as Swedish author Karin Tidbeck’s previous works, though more fantastical and fairytale-like.” 
—Buzzfeed, “21 Fantasy Books to Get Excited About This Winter” 
 
The Memory Theater is a truly immersive experience, and absolutely blew my mind.” 
—Tor, “The 30 Most Anticipated SFF Books of 2021” 

“A dark, new fairy tale about the haves and the have-nots.” 
—K.W. Colyard, Bustle  

“Sharp and glittering. . . . Tidbeck [creates] a world where love, cruelty, and wonder all exist side by side. Highly recommended for fans of Tanith Lee, Michael Moorcock, or Mervyn Peake.”
—Booklist, starred review 

“Expansive and wildly imaginative . . . Tidbeck straddles fantasy, coming-of-age drama, and horror with an exciting, sometimes wrenching tale of friendship and time travel . . . This fast-paced fantasy will please fans of quest stories who don’t mind a bit of darkness.”
—Publishers Weekly

“Strange and unique . . . A dark fairy tale that snakes through the multiverse.”
—Kirkus

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Karin Tidbeck
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top