Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List
Toggle side nav

Pizza Girl

Best Seller
Pizza Girl by Jean Kyoung Frazier
Hardcover $24.95
Jun 09, 2020 | ISBN 9780385545723

Also available from:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Jun 09, 2020 | ISBN 9780385545723

    Also available from:

  • Jun 09, 2020 | ISBN 9780385545730

    Available from:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from Pizza Girl

Product Details

Praise

“Explosive…[Pizza Girl] bristles with biting wit and optimism, each page a feast of Cheeto-fingered heart, humor, and lyricism.”
Esquire

“This quirky, moody novel delivers in unexpected ways.”
People

“Sharp and surprising, Pizza Girl shows us how obsession can fill the empty spaces in a young woman’s life. Jean Kyoung Frazier will make you laugh with one sentence and break your heart with the next. A delicious debut.”
Julia Phillips, author of Disappearing Earth

“In fearless, propulsive prose, Jean Kyoung Frazier perfectly captures the listless ache of a grieving, aimless teen on the cusp of terrifying responsibility. A sublime ode to obsessive outcasts and lovable screw-ups everywhere, Pizza Girl is irresistible and bold, brutal and sweet, with an ending that will thrash your heart.”
Kimberly King Parsons, author of Black Light

Pizza Girl is luminous, brooding, and, frankly, awe-inspiring. It’s a joy to spend time in Frazier’s world, an experience that only illuminates our own. The novel that teaches you something about yourself is a rare thing, and Frazier has given us a gift.”
Bryan Washington, author of Lot

“Jean Kyoung Frazier, a blazing new voice in fiction, has given us a sly, poignant glimpse into the wilds of suburbia, where intergenerational queer love and alienation from labor go hand  in hand. And who doesn’t want to read about that?”
Andrea Lawlor, author of Paul Takes the Form of a Mortal Girl

“To Pizza Girl, Jean Kyoung Frazier brings a flawless ear for language, great inventiveness, unfailing intelligence and empathy, and best of all a rare and shimmering wit. This novel has immense appeal.”
—Richard Ford

Pizza Girl is a funny and moving debut, full of wry observation and deep humanity. Jean Kyoung Frazier’s incredibly winning protagonist delivers laughter and grief with all the toppings. A wonderful novel from a new writer with talent and heart.”
Sam Lipsyte, author of Hark

“Frazier’s darkly comic, unsentimental, subversive debut novel, Pizza Girl, heralds the debut of a wholly-original new kind of American hero, a pregnant, teetering-on-alcoholic Korean-American teenager, as well as the arrival of a wildly gifted writer.”
Elissa Schappell, author of Blueprints for Building Better Girls

“[A] playful and unflinching debut…This infectious evocation of a young woman’s slackerdom will appeal to fans of Halle Butler and Ottessa Moshfegh, and will make it difficult not to root for the troubled and spirited pizza girl.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“[A] quirky and emotionally resonant L.A.-set debut…Offbeat, polished, and heartfelt.”
Booklist

Back to Top