Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List
A Dream of Death by Connie Berry

A Dream of Death

Best Seller
A Dream of Death by Connie Berry
Hardcover
Apr 09, 2019 | ISBN 9781683319870
See All Formats (1) +
  • Hardcover $26.99

    Apr 09, 2019 | ISBN 9781683319870

  • Ebook $12.99

    Apr 09, 2019 | ISBN 9781683319887

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

Praise for A Dream of Death:
“Newcomer Berry turns in a well-written, intriguing debut mystery that combines history, an unforgettable setting, and mature, relatable characters in a story that blends an old island legend with a contemporary whodunit. It will appeal to readers of Paige Shelton’s ‘Scottish Bookshop’ series and Jane Cleland’s antiques mysteries.”
Library Journal starred review, Debut of the Month

“Suspenseful [and] elegantly written…Readers will look forward to seeing more of the intelligent and resourceful Kate.”
Publishers Weekly

“Nicely drawn characters with realistic backstories, a romantic historical subplot, and a modern-day flirtation combine to make this a promising start to a new series.”
Booklist

“An exciting one, with tense and tough moments, aided by its rugged Scottish setting and the author’s entertaining unraveling of the plot.”
New York Journal of Books

“The Scottish atmosphere is captivating, the characters are well-drawn, and the dual mysteries blend together perfectly. This is exactly the type of book that I read cover to cover with barely a break…I honestly recommend this book to anyone who loves a good mystery.”
MyShelf

“A deftly crafted mystery by a master of the genre.”
Midwest Book Review

“Delightfully steeped in the flavors of Scotland past and present…Berry is a deft storyteller who weaves together murder, secrets, and historical tragedy with a smooth hand. A Dream of Death grabbed my attention from the start and didn’t let up.”
—Bailey Cates, New York Times bestselling author of the Magical Bakery mysteries

“Deliciously atmospheric and beautifully written…this mystery will keep you up late turning the pages.”
—Peg Cochran, USA Today bestselling author of the Cranberry Cove mysteries

“With an arrow straight-to-the-heart, Connie Berry whisks you away to Scotland where a present murder harbors echoes of the distant past. Layered with antiques, puzzles, and treats, A Dream of Death is a Scottish delight that will keep you on your toes until the very end.”
—Carlene O’Connor, USA Today bestselling author of the Irish Village mysteries

“What a treat! A modern day Outlander…Charming, authentic, surprising—and completely irresistible.”
—Hank Phillippi Ryan, national bestselling and Agatha award-winning author of Trust Me

“Connie Berry’s debut novel has it all—atmosphere, suspense, a cracking-good mystery, and characters I want to meet again soon. I can’t imagine a better way to spend an afternoon.”
—Molly MacRae, national bestselling author of the Highland Bookshop mysteries

“An antique casket, buried secrets, old grudges and unsolved murders make for an unforgettable, heart-pounding mystery in the windswept Scottish Isles.”
—Duffy Brown, national bestselling author of the Consignment Shop mysteries

“A fresh new series that captures the Scottish scenery perfectly with suspenseful layers of intrigue and intelligent characters. Riveting…I couldn’t put it down.”
—Hannah Reed, national bestselling author of the Scottish Highland mysteries

“Masterfully plotted with compelling characters and a setting rich in history, A Dream of Death is, in one word, beautiful. An absolutely stunning debut.”
—Gretchen Archer, bestselling author of the Davis Way Crime Caper mysteries

A Dream of Death is as satisfying as a full Scottish breakfast, entertaining as a highland fling, and mysteries as the Loch Ness monster.”
—Sherry Harris, Agatha award-nominated author of the Sarah Winston Garage Sale mysteries

“I was caught from the first page…Scotland, a current mystery, and an ancient puzzle—what’s not to love?”
—Fran Stewart, award-winning author of the ScotShop mysteries & the Biscuit McKee mysteries

“I loved this book! The plot is deliciously twisty and unexpectedly romantic. Add elegant prose and you have a dazzling debut that’s beautifully crafted and thoroughly enjoyable.”
—Jane Cleland, award-winning author of the Josie Prescott Antiques mysteries

“Wonderful…the murder mysteries, past and present, are so intricately interwoven that readers won’t be able to stop turning pages until they reach the novel’s very satisfying conclusion.”
—Kaitlyn Dunnett, author of the Liss MacCrimmon mysteries

Back to Top