Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
A Holly Jolly Diwali by Sonya Lalli
Add to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

A Holly Jolly Diwali

Best Seller
A Holly Jolly Diwali by Sonya Lalli
Paperback $17.00
Oct 05, 2021 | ISBN 9780593100950

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Oct 05, 2021 | ISBN 9780593100950

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Oct 05, 2021 | ISBN 9780593100967

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from A Holly Jolly Diwali

Product Details

Praise

“A delicious holiday romance, cozily wrapped up in a story about rediscovering your roots and taking a chance on newfound love. Niki’s decision to attend her friend’s wedding in India provides a compelling exploration of family, reinvention, South Asian culture, and newfound love. What a fun read!”–Uzma Jalaluddin, bestselling author of Hana Khan Carries On

“Funny and heartwarming, with lush descriptions of Indian beach resorts and chaotic city streets, Lalli’s latest multicultural romance is extremely satisfying; her characters are refreshingly relatable. Highly recommended for fans of Sonali Dev and Sophie Kinsella.”–Booklist (starred)

Praise for Sonya Lalli

“Sonya Lalli offers up a tale of familial pressures, cultural traditions, and self-discovery, that is equal turns heartbreaking and hilarious…Lalli tears down stereotypes with humor and warmth.”–Entertainment Weekly

“An engaging love story that delivers on the promise of true love forever.”–NPR

“A light-hearted yet perfectly-complicated read with several strong characters. It had many relatable laugh-out-loud moments, many cultural eye-roll and deep sigh moments, and many wholesome I-need-to-call-my-best-friend moments.”–Brown Girl Magazine

“Sonya Lalli’s savvy novel puts relationships in all of their forms–family, friends, and romance–on even footing as a young woman works to find happiness.”–Shelf Awareness

“Sonya Lalli’s charming novel explores how our relationships define us. Through honesty, humor, and vulnerability, Serena Singh reminds us that new, fulfilling connections are possible at any age. This equal parts relatable and entertaining story is a delight from start to finish!”—Saumya Dave

“Heartfelt and forthright, Lalli’s culturally rich work of women’s fiction is exceptional.”—Booklist (starred)

“From yoga studios to finding oneself in trips abroad to online dating, Lalli gives readers a wonderful novel about love and belonging and meaning of happiness and home.”–Soniah Kamal, award-winning author of Unmarriageable: Pride and Prejudice in Pakistan

“Anu’s struggle to find herself is wrought with obstacles and sometimes frustrating, but the resolution of her story is both satisfying and realistic. A moving look at one woman’s journey between her family and her desire for independence.”–Kirkus

“Lalli’s sharp-eyed tale of cross-cultural dating, family heartbreak, the strictures of culture, and the exuberance of love is both universal and timeless.”–Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Bright and vivid, and fresh and funny–I was utterly charmed by this insight into Raina’s struggle to be the perfect Indian daughter. A delightful debut.”–Veronica Henry, author of How to Find Love in a Bookshop

“A riotous odyssey into the pressures of cross-cultural modern dating that will chime with every 20-something singleton”–ELLE (UK)

“A funny and moving exploration of modern love.”–Balli Kaur Jaswal, author of Erotic Stories for Punjabi Widows (A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick)

“Absolutely charming.”–Woman’s Day

“A warm and refreshing look at cultural identity, unexpected romance, and unbreakable family bonds.”–Kirkus

“Lalli’s debut is a delightful, multicultural romantic comedy full of humorous banter and loads of life lessons about family, happiness, love, honesty, and acceptance.”–Booklist (starred review)

“A knockout romantic comedy debut.”–Washington Independent Review of Books

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Sonya Lalli
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top