Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List
Toggle side nav
Somewhere in the Dark by R. J. Jacobs

Somewhere in the Dark

Best Seller
Somewhere in the Dark by R. J. Jacobs
Hardcover $26.99
Aug 11, 2020 | ISBN 9781643853000

Also available from:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Aug 11, 2020 | ISBN 9781643853000

    Also available from:

  • Aug 11, 2020 | ISBN 9781643853215

    Available from:

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

Praise for Somewhere in the Dark:
“Jacobs immediately hooks the reader…Fans of Amy Engels and Mindy Mejia will be delighted.”
Publishers Weekly

“A great and emotional read worth your time.”
San Francisco Book Review

“A superb story, it is such wonderfully told, gripping, edge-of-your seat stuff. I really rooted for Jessie. The ending was truly moving, too. This book deserves to fly off the shelves!”
—Melanie Golding, author of Little Darlings
 

“This pulse-pounding thriller, [with an]unforgettable heroine, as heartbreaking as she is chilling, and Jacobs’s evocative writing makes you feel like you’re breathing in the sweltering Nashville air. Somewhere in the Dark is expertly plotted, emotionally satisfying, and not to be missed!”
—Layne Fargo, author of Temper

“A beautifully written page-turner with one of the most fascinating characters I’ve read in a long time. Filled with deep psychological insights into the nature of obsession and trauma, Somewhere in the Dark is a heartbreaking and heartwarming portrait of a damaged young woman trying to remake her life.”
—Angie Kim, national bestselling author of Miracle Creek

Praise for And Then You Were Gone:
“Jacobs, a psychologist himself, delivers a compulsively readable yet complex thriller, filled with red herrings, plenty of action, and an appealing but deeply flawed protagonist. This psychological thriller takes hold and won’t let go.”
―Publishers Weekly

“A stellar, psychological thriller with twists and turns you don’t see coming… R. J. Jacobs is one to watch for years to come.”
—Red Carpet Crash 

“The strongest plot element is Jacobs’s sympathetic understanding of Emily’s mental condition, how it contributes to her stress and mania, and how she comes to rely solely on her determination to survive… A disturbing, fully satisfying drama.”
—Mystery Scene Magazine

“No matter who picks up the book, they will undeniably find a part of themselves inside of it somewhere… Be prepared to sit down until finishing it.”
—The Battalion 

“A steep-dive roller coaster ride with an at-risk, sometimes unreliable heroine at the helm, one who is endangered but also dangerous. It’s hard to believe this gripping psychological thriller is by a debut author. Get on board but hang on!”
—Karen Harper, New York Times bestselling author of Silent Scream

“A gripping psychological thriller filled with suspenseful twists and turns!”
—Brad Thor, #1 New York Times bSpymaster

And Then You Were Gone is a high-stakes, disorienting thrill ride
—Sarah Bailey, international bestselling author of The Dark Lake

“R. J. Jacobs cleverly combines a tightly plotted thriller with a who-can-you-trust cast of characters in this sensational debut.” 
—Dawn Eastman, national bestselling author of Unnatural Causes 

“And Then You Were Gone captivates readers…pulling you headfirst into a terrifying disappearance that quickly derails the life of an irresistible and freshly-drawn main character. It will keep you turning page after page, with racing heart, toward the satisfying finish. Highly recommended!”
—E. C. Diskin, author of Amazon bestseller Broken Grace

“Compelling, satisfying, and clever, this book has all the elements of a good mystery, plus a wonderfully complicated, flawed protagonist. And Then You Were Gone will keep you reading–and leave you wanting more!”
—Wylene Dunbar, author of My Life With Corpses

“Rich characterizations, exquisite language, and a subtle thrum of tension . . . In Emily Firestone, Jacobs has created not just a heroine, but a fully realized person whose bipolar disorder is sensitively and realistically handled. I was riveted from the very first page.”
—Jaden Terrell, author of the Jared McKean mysteries

“Cruel and compulsive, Jacobs has crafted a live-wire of a debut. Fever-pitch prose reveals the untrustworthy nature of our perceptions, and a taut, unflinching plot makes putting this book down absolutely impossible.”
—P. J. Vernon, author of When You Find Me

“A thrilling ride that kept me guessing until the end… Exceptional!”
—Rena Olsen, author of The Girl Before

Back to Top