Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo
Add to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane

Best Seller
The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo
Paperback $7.99
Dec 08, 2015 | ISBN 9780763680909

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Dec 08, 2015 | ISBN 9780763680909 | 7-10 years

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Jul 28, 2009 | ISBN 9780763647834 | 7-10 years

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Feb 14, 2006 | ISBN 9780763625894 | 6-9 years

    Buy from Other Retailers:

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

Just because it’s intended for a younger audience doesn’t mean there isn’t something worthwhile in there for us all.
—Sara Jessica Parker

One reading is hardly enough to savor the rich philosophical nuances of DiCamillo’s story. I think I will go read it again right now.
—The New York Times Book Review

This achingly beautiful story shows a true master of writing at her very best.
—School Library Journal (starred review)

The story soars because of DiCamillo’s lyrical use of language and her understanding of universal yearnings. This will be a pleasure to read aloud.
—Booklist (starred review)

Once again, DiCamillo harkens back to an older storytelling style, filled with magic and the transformational power of love. . . . The reader will be transformed, too.
—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

There will be inevitable comparison of Edward Tulane to The Velveteen Rabbit, and Margery Williams’s classic story can still charm after 83 years. But as delightful as it is, it can’t match the exquisite language, inventive plot twists, and memorable characters of DiCamillo’s tale.
—Publishers Weekly, boxed signature review

The delicate sepia images that head each chapter and the full-color illustrations augment the emotional tenor of the book.
—The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

DiCamillo writes tenderly and lyrically but with restraint, keeping a tight focus on Edward’s experience and gradual awakening.
—The Horn Book

Bagram Ibatoulline’s exquisite illustrations cast a warm light across this . . . tale by one of today’s most admired writers for children.
—Wall Street Journal

DiCamillo has carved out a distinct place as one of her generation’s most beloved writers.
—Chicago Tribune

When Edward’s journey ends, the reader will be wishing this story could go on and on.
—Washington Post Book World

In the tradition of poignant, beloved children’s classics like Don Freeman’s Corduroy and Anna Sewell’s Black Beauty comes best-selling, Newbery Medal-winning author Kate DiCamillo’s utterly charming creation The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane. . . . With traditional illustrations and text that begs to be read aloud, The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane will quickly take a place of honor on every child’s bookshelf, undoubtedly and deservedly.
—Time Out New York Kids

DiCamillo . . . is a natural children’s-book writer.
—Boston Herald

This choice is destined to become a classic.
—Dallas Morning News

DiCamillo’s book is as much a literary miracle as Edward’s transformation.
—Raleigh News and Observer

DiCamillo’s newest offering is full of lovely, stately language, a riveting plot and a message that is heartwarming without being preachy. Fans of Because of Winn-Dixie and The Tale of Despereaux will not be disappointed. . . .This tale has ‘destined to be classic’ written all over it, and it lives up to its great promise.
—Book Page

A rare and beautiful book that remains in the soul.
—San Diego Union-Tribune

Elegantly designed, with delicate, full-color plate paintings by Bagram Ibatoulline, it has the look of a classic.
—Miami Herald

Lovingly told, DiCamillo’s affection for her characters shines through and overtakes you and by the book’s end, readers will care deeply.
—Honolulu Advertiser

A new classic has been forged.
—Pittsburgh Post Gazette

The powerful storytelling of bestselling author DiCamillo paired with Ibatoulline’s luminous paintings, will leave no reader — child or adult — unmoved.
—Child

Beautifully designed, with plenty of old fashioned illustrations.
—Seattle Times

A riveting tale, by turns sad and joyous.
—Scripps-Howard News Service, Best Children’s Books roundup

The miracle of Edward Tulane’s journey is the miracle of learning to love.
—ForeWord Magazine

Exemplifies the art of bookmaking as well as excellence in storytelling and illustration.
—Reading Today

A remarkable, eloquent and genuinely moving story. . . . Hang onto this title as one to remember for graduation gifts.
—Denver Post

Ibatoulline outdoes himself — Yet even standing alone, the story soars because of DiCamillo’s lyrical use of language and universal yearnings.
—Book Links

The sad yet hopeful story of a selfish china rabbit that learns to love is beautifully written, and the sepia-toned gouache illustrations make this book one to treasure for many years.
—Kansas City Star

Awards

Boston Globe-Horn Book Award WINNER

Christopher Award WINNER

ALA Notable Children’s Book SELECTION

New York Times Notable Book SELECTION

Publishers Weekly Best Children’s Book of the Year SELECTION

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Kate DiCamillo
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top