Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

The Downstairs Neighbor

Best Seller
The Downstairs Neighbor by Helen Cooper
Paperback $17.00
Feb 16, 2021 | ISBN 9780593190388

Also available from:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Feb 16, 2021 | ISBN 9780593190388

    Also available from:

  • Feb 16, 2021 | ISBN 9780593190401

    Available from:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from The Downstairs Neighbor

Product Details

Praise

“Fans of British mysteries will love this debut…It is difficult to put down. This is one that readers may not figure out fully, if at all, in advance of the denouement, but the author ties all the secrets together in a most satisfying reveal.”–Library Journal (starred review)

“Perfect for fans of twisty plots that’ll keep you guessing.”–Country Living

“[A] heart-pounding debut…Even avid suspense readers won’t be able to predict all the twists. Cooper is off to a strong start.” —Publishers Weekly

“Cooper skillfully builds a house of cards, demolishes it, reshuffles the deck, and deals an even stronger hand, while keeping a few cards up her sleeve. An emotionally charged domestic-suspense debut, perfect for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware.” –Booklist

“Powerfully displays how we often think secrets are the best way to protect those we love, but they often cause more damage than good.”–San Francisco Book Review 

“I am a sucker for an eavesdropping premise, and Helen Cooper’s The Downstairs Neighbor doesn’t disappoint. Cooper starts with a bang, with a missing girl and a big house filled with suspects, then holds the suspense high with characters that will keep the reader guessing—and guessing wrong. A gradual unearthing of long-held secrets wrapped in a smoothly plotted page-turner. “–Kimberly Belle, bestselling author of Stranger in the Lake

“Lock your doors, close your curtains, and sink into this claustrophobic tale of families, neighbors and buried secrets. Tense and perfectly paced, this emotionally charged novel will keep you guessing right to the very end.”–Emma Rous, bestselling author of The Au Pair

“The unrelenting tension of this well-crafted debut kept me whizzing through the book, eager to discover exactly what had happened to Freya and whether the intriguing neighbours had anything to do with it. Loved the tension, the secrets and the satisfying, unexpected conclusion. Recommended!”–KL Slater, author of The Apartment

“An intriguing and compulsive story about family, secret pasts and private lives. Simmering with suspense and packed with twists and tension, this expertly crafted novel kept me gripped from start to finish.”–Holly Miller, author of The Sight of You

Be the first to know!
More from Helen Cooper and book picks sent right to your inbox
More from Helen Cooper and book picks sent right to your inbox
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top