Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
Golden Age by Wang Xiaobo
Add Golden Age to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

Golden Age

Best Seller
Golden Age by Wang Xiaobo
Hardcover $26.00
Jul 26, 2022 | ISBN 9781662601217

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Jul 26, 2022 | ISBN 9781662601217

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Jul 26, 2022 | ISBN 9781662601224

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Product Details

Praise

“This new translation captures Wang Xiaobo’s absurdist and surprisingly lewd sense of humor, as well as the grimly amusing satire of China’s Cultural Revolution that lurks within it . . . Golden Age is never less than entertaining, its sharp insights existing alongside endless sexual innuendo and jokes that mine humor from the darkest recesses of Chinese history.”
Hank Stephenson, Shelf Awareness

Golden Age . . . is a tour de force satire of the Cultural Revolution, a brave and bawdy work that will appeal to fans of Gary Shteyngart and Michel Houellebecq alike.”
—Chicago Review of Books

“A leading icon of his generation, [Wang’s] cerebral and sarcastic narrative is a reflection on the failures of individuals and the enormous political, social and personal changes that traumatized 20th century China.”
Alan Chong Lau, International Examiner

“Golden Age, long admired in many circles, may prove a revelation to readers outside China. Wang Xiaobo steeped himself in the literatures of East and West, and the blending of influences—including Proust and Twain—makes for a searingly funny and fearless narration full of brilliant headlong riffs on sex, time, history and the terrifying absurdities of the Cultural Revolution. Bawdy, earthy, cerebral, outrageous, bleakly hilarious and off-handedly brave, this novel is like nothing else.”
— Sam Lipsyte, author of The Ask and The Subject Steve

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Wang Xiaobo
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top