Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
A Dark and Secret Place by Jen Williams
Add to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

A Dark and Secret Place

Best Seller
A Dark and Secret Place by Jen Williams
Hardcover $25.99
Jun 08, 2021 | ISBN 9781643855745

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • May 10, 2022 | ISBN 9781643859781

    Pre-order from:

  • Jun 08, 2021 | ISBN 9781643855745

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Jun 08, 2021 | ISBN 9781643855752

    Buy from Other Retailers:

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

Praise for A Dark and Secret Place:
“It’ll give you the shivers even on those hot summer nights!”
—Barnes & Noble Newport Beach

“Thoroughly addicitve…Fans of Alex North and CJ Tudor should get their hands on this one ASAP.”
—Booklist, starred review

“A fairy tale for adults with strong stomachs.”
—Kirkus Reviews

“Clever . . . A Dark and Secret Place is a chilling tale.”
New York Journal of Books

“Williams uses lyrical storytelling to create an ominous story full of chilling moments…[it will] make you want to leave the lights on at night.” 
—Mystery & Suspense Magazine

“Twists and turns that keep the reader engaged, you’ll be shocked right up until the very end.”
Red Carpet Crash

“Intriguing and fast-paced . . . Highly recommended for fans of horror mysteries.”
Gumshoe Review

A Dark and Secret Place contains many secrets, shocks, and horrors. With its high body count and gory killings, readers will find it very intriguing and fast-paced . . . Highly recommended for fans of horror mysteries.”
SfRevu

“Grabs you by the throat and doesn’t let go. Part-Midsommar, part-Hereditary, part-Mindhunter – and entirely terrifying.”
—Abigail Dean, New York Times bestselling author of Girl A

“Reminiscent of Gillian Flynn’s Sharp Objects.”
—Sarah Pinborough, New York Times Bestselling author of Behind Her Eyes

“Dark as a Grimm fairy tale and brimming with secret…This novel will appeal to—and deeply chill—fans of true crime.”
—Megan Collins, author of The Winter Sister and Behind the Red Door

“A hugely impressive crime debut.”
—Jane Casey, Sunday Times bestselling author

“Creepy and compelling, [A Dark and Secret Place] is a truly disturbing take on a serial killer narrative. I read it heart in mouth!”
—Harriet Tyce, Sunday Times Bestselling author of Blood Orange

“For fans of Tana French and Thomas Harris, A Dark and Secret Place is a taut and stylish thriller…Riveting from the first page.”
—E.G. Scott, internationally bestselling author of The Woman Inside

“Intense and with a seam of gallows humour, A Dark and Secret Place delivers complex characters and a fascinating journey into the past and future of a sequence of unforgettable crimes. Terrifying, fun, and insightful.
—Nathan Ripley, bestselling author of Find You in the Dark

“Masterfully plotted and heart-poundingly tense, Jen Williams combines British folklore, cults, and the most chilling serial killer to grace the page in years – creating a thriller that’s both mesmerising, and utterly terrifying. I was hooked from the first page to the last.”
 —Katie Lowe, author of The Furies

“A tense, gripping and original read, with one of the creepiest serial killers I’ve encountered in a long time.”
 —Amy McCulloch, author of Breathless

“I couldn’t stop reading [A Dark and Secret Place] once I started. I’ve just taken an extended lunch break to finish it and I can’t quite put it into words yet except to say WOW.”
 —Jennifer Saint, author of Ariadne

“A dark and addictive read that will keep you enthralled until the last page.”
  —Laure Van Rensburg, author of Nobody But Us

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Jen Williams
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top