Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

The Summer Job

Best Seller
The Summer Job by Lizzy Dent
Paperback $16.00
May 18, 2021 | ISBN 9780593328118

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • May 18, 2021 | ISBN 9780593328118

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • May 18, 2021 | ISBN 9780593328125

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from The Summer Job

Product Details

Praise

Advance Praise for The Summer Job
 
One of Cosmopolitan’s New Books to Feed Your Wanderlust
One of Marie Claire’s Ultimate Summer Beach Reads
One of Entertainment Weekly’s 20 Best New Books to Read in May
One of New York Post’s 30 Best Books on Our Summer Reading List 
One of Bustle’s 20 Best Beach Reads of 2021
One of PopSugar’s Best Romance Books about Travel to Read This Month
One of Real Simple’s 31 Best Beach Reads
One of Country Living’s 30 Can’t Miss Beach Reads for This Summer
One of Parade’s 25 Books You’ll Want to Read This Sizzling Season
One of Fortune’s 10 Entertaining New Books to Read This Summer
One of The Pioneer Woman’s 20 Best Beach Reads of Summer 2021
One of SheReads’s Most Anticipated Romance Books of 2021
One of PureWow’s 18 Best Beach Reads of Summer 2021
One of Life Savvy’s 17 Can’t Miss Books Hitting Shelves This May
One of Glitter Guide’s 9 Books To Add To Your May Reading List
One of Hello Giggles’s 11 Best New Books to Read in May
 
“My perfect summer read! Sure to be one of the sweetest, funniest, and sexiest books of the year.” —Emily Henry, author of Beach Read

“Witty and funny and it packs an emotional punch…Loved it, I’m in the queue for more Lizzy Dent.” —Josie Silver, author of One Day in December

“Fresh, funny and filled with delicious food and wine.” —Beth O’Leary, author of The Flatshare

“A rom-com-esque adventure in which a girl steals her best friend’s identity to spend the season at a luxury Scottish Highland resort. Lol, same.” –Cosmopolitan

“Funny, romantic, hilariously chaotic and full to the brim with Scottish charm.” –Parade

“The secluded Scotland setting makes it easy to immerse yourself in Birdy’s world…Plenty of bad decisions and dramatic disasters, a cast of supporting characters to love and hate, and a sweet and tender romance despite all odds. But through it all, you can’t help but root for Birdy!” –PopSugar

“If you’re a fan of Outlander but want an adventure in the Scottish Highlands with a little more Wi-Fi, this is the read for you.” –Shondaland

“Dent hits a home run with her first novel…A sure bet for fans of Jenny Colgan.” –Library Journal, starred

“Escapist fun…Fans of Emily Henry and Katie Fforde should add this to their summer-read list.” —Booklist

“Fans of Emily Henry or Sophie Kinsella will fall for debut novelist Lizzy Dent.” —Shelf Awareness

“Fun with a capital F…If you’ve ever felt you’re getting left behind in life, or don’t have everything worked out quite yet, this is the book for you.” —Sophie Cousens, author of This Time Next Year

“Birdy has kicked off her summer job as sommelier at a remote Scottish hotel with a bit of a fib — well, a whopper … What could possibly go wrong?”—New York Post

“This book is begging to be read on the beach. But it’s so much more than a beach read…The Summer Job is fun, feel-good, and full of heart.” –Hello Giggles

“Endearing and funny but still packing a surprising emotional punch, this sparkling debut from Lizzy Dent is the perfect title to kick off the summer reading season.” –Book Riot

“A hilarious rom-com.” –PopSugar

“Engaging, heart-warming and so much fun. I bloody loved it.”—Marian Keyes, author of Sushi for Beginners
 
“A charming and funny read about how our worst mistake can be the very thing that helps us become a better person.” —Julia Whelan, author of My Oxford Year
 
“An enthralling escapist story…Perfectly balances emotion with wit, humor, and joy.” —Sarah Smith, author of The Faker

Gossipy, warm and funny. Like Goldie Hawn’s Private Benjamin, but with wine!” —Beth Morrey, author of The Love Story of Missy Carmichael
 
“I fell for Birdy on the very first page and inhaled the rest of her story…A brilliantly original plot paired with fabulously funny writing – a pure joy to read!” —Helly Acton, author of The Shelf

“The literary equivalent of going out on an amazing night out with your best friends…I’ll be recommending it to everyone!” —Katherine Webber, author of The Heartbeats of Wing Jones

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Lizzy Dent
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top