Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

A Sunday in Ville-d'Avray

Best Seller
A Sunday in Ville-d'Avray by Dominique Barbéris
Hardcover $20.00
Apr 27, 2021 | ISBN 9781635420456

Also available from:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Apr 27, 2021 | ISBN 9781635420456

    Also available from:

  • Apr 27, 2021 | ISBN 9781635420463

    Available from:

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

“Provocative…A study of desire and contentment, time and expectation, this slim novel raises alluring questions about paths not taken…fans of Patrick Modiano will appreciate this.” —Publishers Weekly

“When I opened this lovely novel, I fell into it as if I were in a trance, reading spellbound in one fell swoop. An eerie, unsettling story about the murkiness of truth and memory, and the difficulty of truly knowing another person, A Sunday in Ville-d’Avray has haunted me since I finished the last page.” —Katrina Kittle, bestselling author of The Kindness of Strangers

“In A Sunday in Ville-d’Avray, Dominique Barbéris masterfully summons a world of ice, shadow, light, and darkness out of the Parisian suburbs. Two sisters create a prism of a narrative about what happens when we hope for something else, and the thrill and danger of subconscious desire. The resulting story is brilliant, reading like a chilly, poetic dream bound to come true.” —Jardine Libaire, author of White Fur

A Sunday in Ville-d’Avray is a mesmerizing tale of sisters, suburbia, and secrets. With evocative prose and a deep understanding of memory and family, author Dominique Barbéris spins a simple Sunday visit between adult sisters into a complex narrative about the dreams and desires of midlife women. Set aside a Sunday afternoon, pour yourself a glass of something, and dive into this subtle but haunting novel.” —Lian Dolan, author of The Sweeney Sisters

“In a year with no days, the exquisite A Sunday in Ville-d’Avray precisely captures the haunted feeling of a bygone Sunday, the afternoon already too late, and the bittersweet homesickness of a moment’s end. This wistful novel, a sunbeam illuminating the rain-soaked moments of someone else’s ordinary tragedy, will stay with you for weeks.” —Barbara Bourland, author of Fake Like Me and I’ll Eat When I’m Dead

“Quiet but suspenseful, A Sunday in Ville-d’Avray tells the story of two sisters. As one sister recounts a strange episode from years before, the other’s perceptions begin to change. It’s an atmospheric and brooding novel, with secret desires and hidden regrets, images of Paris and its suburbs, and Barbéris’s prose evoking the psychological suspense of Henry James and Anita Brookner. Perfect for fans of Tessa Hadley and Alice Munro.” —Sarah McCraw Crow, author of The Wrong Kind of Woman

A Sunday in Ville-d’Avray is an exquisite inquiry into the nature of longing. Atmospheric, eloquent, and tinged with danger, it’s the perfect way to spend a Sunday. Simply, I loved this book.” —Erika Swyler, author of Light from Other Stars and The Book of Speculation

“Brimming with compassion and stylistically superb, A Sunday in Ville-d’Avray brilliantly captures how turmoil often simmers under a calm surface. As one sister confides in the other, both contemplate what it means to live in the center versus on the periphery of a city and of one’s own life. A captivating, haunting read.” —Rajia Hassib, author of A Pure Heart

“What a beautiful and sly book this is—it casts a hypnotic spell readers won’t want to wake from, especially those who dream of France, of secrets, of the mysterious paths desire has us take.” —Liam Callanan, author of Paris by the Book

“The experience of A Sunday in Ville-d’Avray is less like reading a novel and more like falling in step with a real person, living a life both familiar and distinct, utterly credible and completely immersive. If you are a Francophile, if you disdain the suburbs, if you live in the suburbs, if you have or ever wanted a sibling…this book is for you.” —Elizabeth Topp, author of Perfectly Impossible

“Superb…Dominique Barbéris’s novel conjures the smell of grass after rain, of dead leaves burning in a backyard, the mild, melancholy scents of the Parc de Saint-Cloud at the start of autumn.” —Sud Ouest

“An unsettling text on memory and the marks of regret…a novel with a singular evocative power.” —Le Monde des livres

“This atmospheric novel plunges us into the folds of our own emotions thanks to a richly evocative style…It has the troubling melancholy of Modiano’s novels and the charm of Rohmer’s films.” —Gael

Get the latest updates from Dominique Barbéris
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top