Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
The Night Lake by Liz Tichenor
Add The Night Lake to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

The Night Lake

Best Seller
The Night Lake by Liz Tichenor
Hardcover $26.00
Jan 05, 2021 | ISBN 9781640094062

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Oct 04, 2022 | ISBN 9781640095335

    Also available from:

  • Jan 05, 2021 | ISBN 9781640094062

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Jan 05, 2021 | ISBN 9781640094079

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Product Details

Praise

The Night Lake is a memoir written as it was lived—in measured, small steps forward . . . A purposeful and artistic offering of what it means to live in the wake of death . . . The generosity of Tichenor’s writing and her faith remind us that her story is our story, too.” —Kaethe Schwehn, Christian Century

“The memoir is a courageous and thoughtful companion to all those who have suffered a traumatic loss. Her telling exposes both the deep sadness and trauma of deep loss but also reveals the overwhelming rage that often is buried and denied under grief. In doing so, she gives those who have suffered a traumatic loss permission to rant and raise their fist to God in both anger as well as hope. —Bonnie McDougall Olson, The Intima

“In stunning, raw prose, Tichenor invites readers into a heartrending but ultimately hopeful story of grief, life and renewal.” —Cameron Dezen Hammon, America

“A book as resolute and grounded in the truth of experience as The Night Lake will endure as a beacon for anguish . . . In refusing to be placated or comforted by strained banalities, Liz Tichenor is reaching for a deeper mode of existence and co-existence in which the possibility of real compassion is opened by such brave and unguarded storytelling.” — Vanessa Able, The Dewdrop

“This debut memoir from an Episcopal priest offers a surprising take on grief, faith and loss . . . The Night Lake is an excellent example of making something beautiful out of unimaginable pain.” —Bookpage

“Heart-wrenching yet gorgeous . . . Tichenor’s honest and plush writing lets readers sink into her settings and emotions, whether in grief, hope, or wonder. Perfect for fans of Anne Lamott and any reader interested in the intersection of grief and faith.” ––Kathy Sexton, Booklist (starred review) 

“A powerful, forthright chronicle of surviving profound loss.” —Kirkus Reviews 

“Tichenor’s courageous memoir is an exquisitely crafted, painfully beautiful chronicle of loss . . . Navigating as a bereft wife and mother, a pastor, a friend and a daughter orphaned because of her mother’s helplessness, Tichenor discovers that pain, joy and sadness can prove enlightening, buoying her with hope and eloquent moments of grace. A devastatingly beautiful memoir by a young mother and newly ordained Episcopal priest who is forced to reconcile the loss of her newborn son.” —Kathleen Gerard, Shelf Awareness

“Written with extraordinary insight and grace, The Night Lake is a stunning and powerful reminder that tragedy can’t be overcome by avoidance; that surrendering to heartache loosens its grip; that true acceptance abides even the deepest pain.” –Margaret Wilkerson Sexton, author of The Revisioners

“When Tichenor suffers two tragic and primary losses in her late twenties, she collapses into grief, even as her calling as an Episcopal priest presses her to support others in theirs. With grace, humility, and even humor, she grounds the unfathomable in rituals ornate and ordinary. The result is a raw meditation on fear and courage, loss and love.” — Cynthia Li, MD, author of Brave New Medicine

“From an unspeakable loss, Liz Tichenor speaks. With a courage both heartrending and fierce, she traces a terrain of aching grace. The Night Lake is an astonishingly generous gift.” —Jan Richardson, author of Sparrow: A Book of Life and Death and Life

The Night Lake author Liz Tichenor uses spare, honest, muscular prose to tell a rending story of loss . . . In the face of planetary and individual death and grief, I learn again from The Night Lake that there are companions for us in this world, and that the worl3d is suffused with overflowing love. Run––for she is a runner––with Tichenor––through the story of loss and love that is The Night Lake––it is a story for our time, for all of us.”–Marc Andrus, Episcopal Bishop of the Diocese of California

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Liz Tichenor
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top