Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
The Night Lake by Liz Tichenor

The Night Lake

Best Seller
The Night Lake by Liz Tichenor
Hardcover $26.00
Jan 05, 2021 | ISBN 9781640094062

Also available from:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Jan 05, 2021 | ISBN 9781640094062

    Also available from:

  • Jan 05, 2021 | ISBN 9781640094079

    Available from:

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

“The memoir is a courageous and thoughtful companion to all those who have suffered a traumatic loss. Her telling exposes both the deep sadness and trauma of deep loss but also reveals the overwhelming rage that often is buried and denied under grief. In doing so, she gives those who have suffered a traumatic loss permission to rant and raise their fist to God in both anger as well as hope. —Bonnie McDougall Olson, The Intima

“Heart-wrenching yet gorgeous . . . Tichenor’s honest and plush writing lets readers sink into her settings and emotions, whether in grief, hope, or wonder. Perfect for fans of Anne Lamott and any reader interested in the intersection of grief and faith.” ––Kathy Sexton, Booklist (starred review) 

“A powerful, forthright chronicle of surviving profound loss.” —Kirkus Reviews 

“Tichenor’s courageous memoir is an exquisitely crafted, painfully beautiful chronicle of loss. She articulates the immensity of her feelings and emotions with unbridled candor that, at times, is difficult to read, but ultimately evokes hard-fought rebirth, resurrection and the presence of God . . . Navigating as a bereft wife and mother, a pastor, a friend and a daughter orphaned because of her mother’s helplessness, Tichenor discovers that pain, joy and sadness can prove enlightening, buoying her with hope and eloquent moments of grace. A devastatingly beautiful memoir by a young mother and newly ordained Episcopal priest who is forced to reconcile the loss of her newborn son.” —Kathleen Gerard, Shelf Awareness

“Written with extraordinary insight and grace, The Night Lake is a stunning and powerful reminder that tragedy can’t be overcome by avoidance; that surrendering to heartache loosens its grip; that true acceptance abides even the deepest pain.” –Margaret Wilkerson Sexton, author of The Revisioners

“When Tichenor suffers two tragic and primary losses in her late twenties, she collapses into grief, even as her calling as an Episcopal priest presses her to support others in theirs. With grace, humility, and even humor, she grounds the unfathomable in rituals ornate and ordinary. The result is a raw meditation on fear and courage, loss and love.” — Cynthia Li, MD, author of Brave New Medicine

“From an unspeakable loss, Liz Tichenor speaks. With a courage both heartrending and fierce, she traces a terrain of aching grace. The Night Lake is an astonishingly generous gift.” —Jan Richardson, author of Sparrow: A Book of Life and Death and Life

The Night Lake author Liz Tichenor uses spare, honest, muscular prose to tell a rending story of loss . . . In the face of planetary and individual death and grief, I learn again from The Night Lake that there are companions for us in this world, and that the worl3d is suffused with overflowing love. Run––for she is a runner––with Tichenor––through the story of loss and love that is The Night Lake––it is a story for our time, for all of us.”–Marc Andrus, Episcopal Bishop of the Diocese of California

Be the first to know!
More from Liz Tichenor and book picks sent right to your inbox
More from Liz Tichenor and book picks sent right to your inbox
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top