Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
You're Leaving When? by Annabelle Gurwitch

You're Leaving When?

Best Seller
You're Leaving When? by Annabelle Gurwitch
Hardcover $26.00
Mar 02, 2021 | ISBN 9781640094475

Also available from:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Mar 02, 2021 | ISBN 9781640094475

    Also available from:

  • Mar 02, 2021 | ISBN 9781640094482

    Available from:

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

“Annabelle Gurwich is so funny that, even when bad things happen, she writes about them in a brilliantly entertaining way.” —Dave Barry

“Everyone needs a friend to guide them through the American middle class in decline, and you couldn’t do better than Annabelle Gurwitch. She is sharp-eyed, un-foolable, and hilarious.” —Barbara Ehrenreich

“While her general take on all this is humorous, she writes with empathy and knowledge that her situation is nowhere near rock bottom. There are also many heartfelt moments, especially surrounding her nonbinary child. This is mostly fun stuff, but it’s also honest, confronting difficult and unexpected situations that many middle-aged women may find themselves in. Gurwitch is an excellent companion to navigate the fraught future with.” —Booklist

“Erma Bombeck meets Dorothy Parker in this topical and often laugh-out-loud funny take on our modern malaise . . . Gurwitch possesses an appealingly cockeyed sense of humor, and she offers incisive takes on consumer culture and our contemporary confusions and lighthearted (though pointed) opinions on the travails that beset many middle-age women. In a consistently engaging narrative rich with personal anecdotes, the author pokes fun at her misadventures in love, work, and home maintenance, but she also addresses other pressing matters—economic vulnerability in the gig economy, social inequities, raising nonbinary children, friendship, homelessness, wellness fads, the challenges of a life in the arts, and the mysteries of Zoom—with a similarly breezy touch that is surprisingly effective . . . Gurwitch is a likable exemplar of the I’d-rather-laugh-about-it-than-cry-about-it philosophy.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Gurwitch’s perspective on both the major and the mundane will be relatable to anyone who understands how the American Dream has devolved into a fever dream . . . Her stories are as personal as they are universal . . . The latest from Gurwitch will have readers rolling with laughter one minute and picking up the phone to commiserate with friends or family the next. The author is a delightful eccentric aunt-to-all with her wit, caring, and unbeknown-to-her wisdom. For fans of Nora Ephron and Sloane Crosely alike.” —Library Journal

“Annabelle Gurwitch’s You’re Leaving When? is a pure delight, full of ambivalence, regret, laughter, rage, melancholy, and most importantly, honest observations about grappling with life’s bewildering cavalcade of surprises and disappointments.” ––Heather Havrilesky, New York magazine’s “Ask Polly” columnist and author of What If This Were Enough?

“Gen X was promised the American Dream but instead found downward mobility, job insecurity, and non-stop caregiving. In her timely essays about boomerang kids, pandemic coworking, and post-divorce dating, Annabelle Gurwitch mines our generational ill luck for humor and insight as only a resilient latchkey kid can: with an arched brow and a gimlet eye.” —Ada Calhoun, author of the New York Times bestseller Why We Can’t Sleep: Women’s New Midlife Crisis

“Annabelle Gurwitch’s You’re Leaving When? is beyond hilarious! This “Grey-Divorced” yoga pants-wearing landlady should just invite us all into her home so we can curl up like cats around her (surely soon to be installed) wine bar for rap sessions about vaginal rejuvenation and radical swiffering. I loved it. A cheering midlife romp!” —Sandra Tsing Loh, author of The Madwoman in the Volvo

Be the first to know!
More from Annabelle Gurwitch and book picks sent right to your inbox
More from Annabelle Gurwitch and book picks sent right to your inbox
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top