Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

Strange Flowers

Best Seller
Strange Flowers by Donal Ryan
Paperback $17.00
Jun 15, 2021 | ISBN 9780143136392

Also available from:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Jun 15, 2021 | ISBN 9780143136392

    Also available from:

  • Jun 15, 2021 | ISBN 9780525507925

    Available from:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from Strange Flowers

Product Details

Praise

“The novel, as with all Ryan’s work, is tightly compressed, skillfully whittled down to the point where each word carries far more than its weight… Filled with tenderness, and written with the quiet lyricism that has put Ryan on the topmost branch of the flourishing tree of contemporary Irish fiction.”
The New York Times Book Review

“The working out of the sadness and secrets of this little family is beautifully done, poignant rather than depressing, and ending on a sweet note. As in his past work, Ryan’s prose is a miracle of fluidity, of country talk flowing in and out of people’s thoughts, capturing the rural Irish soul in its whole essence as brilliantly as any writer ever has.”
Minneapolis Star Tribune

“Ryan (From a Low and Quiet Sea) impresses with this gorgeous and meticulous multigenerational family saga…Fans of Sebastian Barry and Anne Enright will love this delicate and lush portrait.” Publishers Weekly

“A must-read.” Irish Central

“Here is love as a weapon and a balm. Love as faith, fate and redemption… a gorgeously wrought book – compassionate without dissolving into nostalgia.”
Guardian

“One of the greatest Irish novels of this century so far.” Sunday Independent

“Endlessly surprising and incredibly moving.” David Nicholls

“A big-hearted, beautiful work of art, full of truth and intensity.” Kit de Waal

“Donal Ryan is giving us characters – their angles and their language – that we haven’t seen in Irish literature before.” Roddy Doyle

Get the latest updates from Donal Ryan
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top