Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
The Quiet and the Loud by Helena Fox
Paperback $12.99
Mar 26, 2024 | ISBN 9780593354599

Preorder from:

See All Formats (3) +
  • Mar 26, 2024 | ISBN 9780593354599 | Young Adult

    Preorder from:

  • Mar 28, 2023 | ISBN 9780593354582 | Young Adult

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Mar 28, 2023 | ISBN 9780593354605 | Young Adult

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Mar 28, 2023 | ISBN 9780593634790 | Young Adult

    635 Minutes

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from The Quiet and the Loud

Product Details

Praise

“The characters in Georgia’s life are numerous and zany and wonderfully frustrating with their passions, anxieties, and idiosyncrasies. They shape the heart of this swiftly moving story that doesn’t shy away from the disasters and pleasures, great and small, that come with living. . . As deeply enjoyable as it is reflective on childhood trauma and growing up, with sweet and yet emotionally mature romantic, platonic, and familial relationships, this book is a sure treat.” —BCCB

“Helena Fox explores trauma, guilt and self-advocacy in this compelling and arresting novel. . . . Vivid imagery is paired with evocative prose and lyric poems, through which George comes to understand that ‘you don’t have to look after everyone, or protect people who have hurt you.’” —Shelf Awareness (starred review)

“Powerful, heart-tugging . . . Exquisitely encapsulates the complexity [of feeling, and] the breathtaking relief of seeking help and learning that the support of others makes you stronger, never weaker. . . . Perfect for fans of Kathleen Glasgow.” —Books+Publishing

“Lyrical and evocative . . . Vivid . . . Laced throughout [are] engaging descriptions of Georgia’s burgeoning romance.” —Kirkus

“Heartbreaking yet uplifting and hopeful . . . with complex characters that weave their way into your heart. [Helena] Fox gives us yet another beautiful novel that we highly recommend for those who want to steep in the intricacies of life and advocating for yourself.” —EveryQueer.com

“A sensitive portrayal of complex PTSD. Flashbacks and lyrical descriptions of George’s art add further dimension.” —Booklist

“A story about friendship and boundaries. About the end of the world and change. If you’re looking for an introspective, character-driven story that manages to be both quiet and loud, then read this one. . . . A brilliant [story] with a rich emotional tapestry.” —Utopia State of Mind

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Back to Top