Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
It Dies with You by Scott Blackburn
Add It Dies with You to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

It Dies with You

Best Seller
It Dies with You by Scott Blackburn
Hardcover $27.99
Jun 07, 2022 | ISBN 9781643859392

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Jun 07, 2022 | ISBN 9781643859392

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Jun 07, 2022 | ISBN 9781643859408

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Product Details

Praise

Praise for It Dies With You:
“Lou Berney and Michael Kardos fans will look forward to more from this gifted author.”
Publishers Weekly

“An engaging tale of redemption wrapped in a gritty crime yarn.”
Kirkus

“[The characters’] chemistry is dynamite. Fans of the TV series Ozark will love this book”
First Clue

“This is a great novel about bad decisions and second chances. Scott Blackburn has a burner of a book on his hands. He’s a crime writer whose name you need to remember, and if you read It Dies with You I can guarantee you won’t forget it. Fans of Michael Farris Smith, David Joy, Daniel Woodrell, and Chris Offutt, this is the new writer you’ve been waiting for.”
—Wiley Cash, NY Times bestselling author of A Land More Kind than Home and When Ghosts Come Home

“Blackburn writes with the same ferocity as Hammett and James M. Cain and It Dies With You is a heavyweight gut punch of hardboiled badassery. This book will leave you with bloody knuckles.” 
—Brian Panowich, LA Times Book Prize Finalist, Georgia Author of the Year, and award-winning writer of Bull Mountain, Like Lions, and Hard Cash Valley.

It Dies With You is a satisfying gut-punch of a story. Gritty and surprising, the small-town Southern mystery is populated with big characters that make this novel truly special. I was rooting for Hudson Miller, the disgraced former prizefighter turned dive bar bouncer, from page one, and I still want to buy Charlie Shoaf a beer or six. Lucy Reyes is an absolute teenage badass. I’d happily spend more time in this world. I can’t wait to read whatever Scott Blackburn writes next.”
—Tiffany Quay Tyson, award-winning author of The Past is Never

“Desperate people, in a hardworn landscape, with the smoke of emotional fires filling the Southern sky, that’s what you’ll get when you settle in with It Dies With You. Scott Blackburn pushes his characters to the extreme, while offering them grace and humility, the careful touch of a careful writer not afraid to go for the knockout.”
—Michael Farris Smith, author of Nick and Blackwood

It Dies with You is a novel with a plot that keeps the pages turning. It’s a whodunnit with grit and heart. I wanted to stay with these characters after the final page, because even when faced with tremendous loss, they fight for what might not be in their best interests, but for what is right. In a cluttered market of antihero protagonists with no redeeming qualities, Hudson is a man I see myself in, and root for. Blackburn’s debut is a must read. It’s sentimental, absorbing, and fun as Hell.”
—David Moloney, author of Barker House

“Scott Blackburn’s It Dies with You is a stunner. It hits hard right out of the gate and burns with that same intensity all the way through. Crackling prose, great characters, and a killer sense of place. Blackburn’s written a gritty tale full of heart.”
—William Boyle, author of Shoot the Moonlight Out  

“Scott Blackburn’s debut novel is a brutal, heartfelt story rooted deep in the rural South, told with an arresting new voice. Blackburn announces his arrival on the literary stage with a strong, right cross, straight to the jaw. Imagine if Ron Rash, David Joy, and Wiley Cash all stepped into a steel cage match and bled all over the page.” 
—Eryk Pruitt, filmmaker and author of Dirtbags and What we Reckon
 
“Scott Blackburn wields prose like a scalpel, using it to peel apart a small Southern town with surgical precision. Gun-running, fisticuffs, murder—this debut novel has it all. Blackburn bobs and weaves between humor and heartbreak with a sure-footed confidence that will make Joe Lansdale green with envy. Equal parts laugh-out-loud funny and gut-wrenching, It Dies with You will live on in readers’ imaginations long after the last page.” 
—J.G. Hetherton, author of Last Girl Gone

“Scott Blackburn’s It Dies With You is a southpaw of a thriller that starts with a slow burn, stuns with a one-two punch of family drama and murder, lands a hook into small-town politics, and closes with an uppercut of an ending. With the most unusual sidekicks this side of a Stephen King novel, ex-boxer Hudson Miller must deal with the legacies left by his father’s death—if he survives. As a writer of Southern rural noir, Blackburn is one to watch.”
—Christopher Swann, author of A Fire in the Night

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates about Scott Blackburn
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use and understand that Penguin Random House collects certain categories of personal information for the purposes listed in that policy, discloses, sells, or shares certain personal information and retains personal information in accordance with the policy. You can opt-out of the sale or sharing of personal information anytime.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top