Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
Bad Cree by Jessica Johns
Add Bad Cree to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf

Bad Cree

Best Seller
Bad Cree by Jessica Johns
Hardcover $27.00
Jan 10, 2023 | ISBN 9780385548694

Also available from:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Jan 10, 2023 | ISBN 9780385548694

    Also available from:

  • Jan 10, 2023 | ISBN 9780385548700

    Also available from:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from Bad Cree

Product Details

Praise

Featured on CrimeReads’ “Unprecedented Era of Native American Noir”

Bad Cree deftly explores the permeable boundaries of dreams, reality, and culture, as well as complex family dynamics and relationships. A compelling novel that is a mystery and a horror story about grief, but one with defiant hope in its beating heart.” —Paul Tremblay, author A Head Full of Ghosts and The Pallbearers Club

Bad Cree is a mesmerizing, enticing read. Jessica Johns writes the world in all its messiness and terror, while simultaneously remembering to center its tender beating heart. A book about family and foundations, but also about how the secrets we keep can knock the floor out from under us. A captivating novel from an exciting new author.” —Kristen Arnett, New York Times bestselling author of Mostly Dead Things

“Both tactile and dreamy, terrifying and beautiful, Bad Cree will wrap you up and pull you along for the journey -once it starts, there’s no backing out, no pause, no stall. I have been waiting years for Jessica Johns’s books – I say books because there had better be more! She did not disappoint.” —Cherie Dimaline, author of The Marrow Thieves

Bad Cree is a masterwork of creeping tension. Wry, moody and subversive, Johns explores the power of connections, both the harm and the healing, with characters rich and warm, tangled in each other, to the land and to the supernatural. Couldn’t put it down.” —Eden Robinson, author of the Trickster Trilogy

“In evocative yet understated prose, Jessica Johns weaves a captivating tale of love, loss, the violence of greed and the healing power of family. In Bad Cree, Johns delivers a suspenseful and thought-provoking page turner you won’t want to put down.” —Michelle Good, author of Five Little Indians

“With creeps that are ever-creepy and love flowing like beer at a bush party, Bad Cree is a book about the power of dreams, home and family. It reads like a tribute to the ones who came before us Lee Maracle, Jeanette Armstrong, Eden Robinson. This book is tough iskwew in flannel shirts with long unbrushed hair, just looking good. It’s tea rings on Formica tables, cigarette smoke wafting through windows, and an eerie magical realism that only belongs to the bush. Full of Auntie power, Jessica Johns is really coming into her own immense storytelling ways.” —Katherena Vermette, author of The Break

“A narrative that is truly chilling and suspenseful. A powerful exploration of generational trauma and an artful, affecting debut.”Kirkus Reviews

“The novel serves as a window into a world where dreams intersect with waking reality. . .It works equally well as spine-tingling thriller and a touching meditation on grief.” —Publishers Weekly *starred review*

“Johns laces cryptid terror into the sense of loss that her community feels. . . Visceral details will have readers hanging on the edge of every chapter, waiting to see when the wheetigo will strike next. Perfect for fans of Ramona Emerson’s Shutter and Stephen Graham Jones’ The Only Good Indians—Johns is a writer to watch.” —Booklist *starred review*

[Bad Cree] is. . .a story about grief and family and the lingering effects of the infringement of industrialism on native lands. . .When the book ends, what readers will remember most are the moments these characters shared together, playing cards and talking late into the night.” —Library Journal

“This gripping horror debut. . . is a satisfying slow burn that explores loss, generational trauma, and violence through a narrative that is chilling yet, at its center, burning with a defiant resilience.” Electric Lit

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates about Jessica Johns
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top