Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
Ghostcloud by Michael Mann
Add Ghostcloud to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf
Ghostcloud by Michael Mann
Hardcover $17.99
Sep 27, 2022 | ISBN 9781682635186

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Sep 05, 2023 | ISBN 9781682636206 | Middle Grade (8-12)

    Also available from:

  • Sep 27, 2022 | ISBN 9781682635186 | Middle Grade (8-12)

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Sep 27, 2022 | ISBN 9781682635193 | Middle Grade (8-12)

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Product Details

Praise

★ “Smartly wrought worldbuilding aptly engages with themes of identity and equity while conjuring an atmospherically gritty London that’s at once singularly inventive and reminiscent of works by Joan Aiken, Charles Dickens, and Philip Pullman. It’s a thoughtful and well-built fantasy that’s also rollicking good fun.”—Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

★ “Charles Dickens, Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials, and Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book rolled into one. Mann creates empathy for Luke, who shows clear hope and compassion for others during this evil time. The quick-witted humor and fast pace keep the entertainment factor high. Thrilling.”—Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

“The Dickensian hardships endured by the protagonists of this mystery-adventure will appeal to young readers . . . so, too, will the characters’ resourcefulness as they follow the clues and form alliances to combat the evil they uncover. The mild supernatural elements integrate smoothly into the alternate setting, while the idea of ‘halves’ (Luke is ‘Half-Indian. Half-detective. Half-ghost’) adds a somewhat wistful theme of identity to the rollicking action.”—The Horn Book

“This fast-paced fantasy adventure will spark the imaginations of readers who enjoy superpowers, ghosts, and the paranormal.”—School Library Connection

“A fun first novel in the vein of Obert Skye and Brian Farrey.”—Booklist

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates about Michael Mann
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use and understand that Penguin Random House collects certain categories of personal information for the purposes listed in that policy, discloses, sells, or shares certain personal information and retains personal information in accordance with the policy. You can opt-out of the sale or sharing of personal information anytime.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top