Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)

The Witch and the Tsar

Best Seller
The Witch and the Tsar by Olesya Salnikova Gilmore
Hardcover $27.00
Sep 20, 2022 | ISBN 9780593546970

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Sep 20, 2022 | ISBN 9780593546970

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Sep 20, 2022 | ISBN 9780593546994

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from The Witch and the Tsar

Product Details

Praise

“An utterly enchanting, wholly immersive debut that deftly reimagines the legend of Baba Yaga. This one is unmissable.”—Alexis Henderson, Author of The Year of the Witching

The Witch and the Tsar delivers high stakes, memorable characters, and a sixteenth-century Russia you can almost reach out and touch. Yaga’s tale is a story I never knew I needed.”  - Genevieve Gornichec, National bestselling author of The Witch’s Heart

“A rich and vivid tapestry of old Russia in an age when Tsar Ivan the Terrible grappled not only with political foes but with the legendary witch Baba Yaga and her command of magic and pagan gods.  An evocative journey into old Russian myth and history, and a poignant exploration of what it means to be both human and immortal.”–Margaret George, New York Times bestselling author of The Splendor Before the Dark

“This epic tale brings both history and folklore to vivid life. It’s a fresh, exciting take sure to capture fans of Madeline Miller’s Circe and Jennifer Saint’s Ariadne.” – Publishers Weekly

“A fierce, historically rich reimagining of the story of Baba Yaga.. full of complicated, three-dimensional women.” Paste Magazine

“Fierce and fearless…With stunning prose and sharp insight, Olesya Salnikova Gilmore conjures up a captivating battle between gods, emperors, and folkloric spirits, led by a prickly, powerful heroine who leaps off the page and refuses to be ignored. This is Baba Yaga like you’ve never seen her before, and you’re going to love her.” –Allison Epstein, Author of A Tip for the Hangman

“Weaves myth and history into a poignant tale of love and war and gods in the flesh, with impeccable imagery and a heroine whose strength and courage stayed with me long after the final page. Fans of The Witch’s Heart, Circe and The Bear and the Nightingale are sure to fall in love with Gilmore’s compelling debut.” – H.M. Long, Author of Hall of Smoke

“A perfect blend of fantasy and historical fiction Immersive and beautifully written, Yaga’s story reminds us that gods–like humans–can choose their own fates.”–Anika Scott, international bestselling author of The Soviet Sisters

“Gilmore’s immersive prose steeps readers in this wonderfully epic folktale full of magic and myth.” – Library Journal (starred review)

“Expertly drawing from Russian history and mythology, Olesya Salnikova Gilmore transforms Baba Yaga into a complex heroine, whose quest to save her country sparkles with folk magic and supernatural intrigue. A powerful, original story.”—Mary McMyne, Author of The Book of Gothel

“Beautifully written, gripping…a story of Baba Yaga as you have never met her before—don’t even THINK about missing it! – Gabriella Saab, Author of The Last Checkmate

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates about Olesya Salnikova Gilmore
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top