Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
Something More by Jackie Khalilieh
Add Something More to bookshelf
Add to Bookshelf
Something More by Jackie Khalilieh
Paperback $10.99
Jun 18, 2024 | ISBN 9781774882153

Preorder from:

See All Formats (3) +
  • $10.99

    Jun 18, 2024 | ISBN 9781774882153 | Young Adult

    Preorder from:

  • $17.99

    Jun 06, 2023 | ISBN 9781774882139 | Young Adult

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Jun 06, 2023 | ISBN 9781774882146 | Young Adult

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Jun 06, 2023 | ISBN 9780735268371

    645 Minutes

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Product Details

Praise

One of Audible Canada’s Best of 2023
One of the New York Library’s Best Books for Teens for 2023
One of CBC’s Best Canadian Books for Kids and Teen for 2023

PRAISE FOR Something More:


“As an autistic person herself, Khalilieh presents readers with a genuine protagonist. Jessie’s identity as the daughter of Palestinian immigrants is woven into the novel through cultural elements and brief explorations of Palestinian issues. . . . [A]n enjoyable read that will have readers rooting for Jessie’s success in love and life.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Jessie’s attempts to define herself within her school and home life are enhanced by Khalilieh’s own experiences as an autistic Palestinian Canadian, imbuing Jessie’s challenges with organic-feeling nuance and making for a fully realized protagonist. [A] thought-provoking and thoroughly entertaining debut that centers questions of identity via a fresh lens.” —Publishers Weekly

“This is the best kind of YA romance, brimming with endearing adolescent awkwardness, bittersweet soul-searching, angsty emotions, and lovable, realistic characters. Something More is a warm, sweet, hope-filled portrayal of neurodivergence and coming of age that spoke deeply to my heart, as a grown woman who was once a confused, awkward (unbeknownst to her then) autistic girl, who’s learned, just as Jessie does, to understand and love her neurodivergent self. I adored it.” —CHLOE LIESE, author of Two Wrongs Make a Right
 
“Compelling and so relatable, this unique YA romance is filled with memorable characters and vibrant prose. I loved watching Jessie’s journey to accept that high school friendships, as well as first love, can be messy and unexpected, and still be so joyous. Jessie’s emotions and struggle to fit into a neurotypical world seem so authentic, and the author perfectly portrays feelings of teenage longing and yearning for connections. An essential book for YA autism representation.” —FARAH HERON, author of Tahira in Bloom and Accidentally Engaged

“Laugh-out-loud funny and heart-wrenching, Jessie Kassis has won my heart. For fans of Jenny Han and Helen Hoang, Something More has something for everyone.” —OLIVIA ABTAHI, author of Perfectly Parvin

“Hands down the best YA I’ve read in years! It was impossible to put down, bursting with charm, and I never wanted it to end. I dare you not to fall in love with Jessie!” —LYNN PAINTER, NYT-bestselling author of Better Than the Movies

Something More is a funny, painfully relatable coming-of-age novel, but as its title suggests, it provides more than laughs with a uniquely nuanced portrait of an endearing protagonist whose trials in high school will remind readers of the power of self-love.” —AARON H. ACEVES, author of This Is Why They Hate Us

Awards

Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards SHORTLIST 2024

Snow Willow Award SHORTLIST 2024

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Back to Top