Click to receive personalized book recommendations daily.
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List

The Books of Elsewhere Series

Poly Bernatene and Jacqueline West
When Olive Dunwoody and her parents move into an old, creaky mansion, she discovers the paintings inside are far more than just art—and far more dangerous, too.
The Shadows by Jacqueline West
The Strangers by Jacqueline West; Illustrated by Poly Bernatene
Still Life by Jacqueline West; Illustrated by Poly Bernatene

The Books of Elsewhere Series : Titles in Order

Book 5
The fifth and final book in The Books of Elsewhere, the award-winning, New York Times bestselling, fan-favorite series–absolutely not to be missed.

Annabelle McMartin is gone for good, but something worse lurks just out of sight–watching, waiting, preparing to strike. Then a field trip to the local art museum reveals a shock. What Olive discovers will create a chain of events that propel her to discoveries she may not wish to uncover, involving Morton’s vanished parents and the very deepest, darkest roots of Aldous McMartin’s creepy painted world. In this fifth and final book, Olive must seek the full, complex story of Elsewhere, its magical origins, and its creator, and in so doing, face her own fears and limitations–and possibly the destruction of Elsewhere itself. How far will Olive go to save the people and home she loves? And what will be the final cost?

A must-read fantasy series for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap.


“It’s like Coraline meets Harry Potter.”—Nerdist 

“Hand these books to fans of Lemony Snicket, Pseudonymous Bosch, and Angie Sage.”—School Library Journal 
Book 4
In the fourth volume of the New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series, Olive thought she had uncovered all the house’s secrets. She was wrong.

It’s Halloween night when strangers come to Linden Street . . . and something absolutely vital to Olive goes missing. To what lengths will she go to get it back? Can she trust the strangers? Will she turn to a new and dangerous magic within the paintings of Elsewhere? Or will Olive put her faith in her own worst enemies to save the people and home she loves?

The stakes grow higher, the secrets more dangerous, and mystery and magic abound as Olive, the boys, and the magical cats uncover the true nature of the old stone house on Linden Street.

A must-read fantasy series for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap.

“This haunting fantasy thriller brings together the quirkiness of Roald Dahl and darkness of Neil Gaiman.” —Austin Family

“The story was well-written, clever, and completely unpredictable…a great summer read that will let your imagination run wild.” —TIME for Kids
Book 3
In Olive’s third adventure in the New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series, what lurks below the house could be as dangerous as what’s hidden inside. . .

Some terrifying things have happened to Olive in the old stone house, but none as scary as starting junior high. Or so she thinks. When she plummets through a hole in her backyard, though, Olive realizes two things that may change her mind: First, the wicked Annabelle McMartin is back. Second, there’s a secret below-ground that unlocks not one but two of Elsewhere’s biggest, most powerful, most dangerous forces yet. But with the house’s magical cats acting suspicious, her best friend threatening to move away, and her ally Morton starting to rebel, Olive isn’t sure where to turn. Will she figure the mystery out in time? Or will she be lured into Elsewhere . . . and trapped there for good?

A must-read fantasy series for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap.
Book 2
The mysteries grow deeper and the secrets darker in the second volume of the New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series.

With no way into the McMartin house’s magical paintings and its three guardian cats reluctant to help, Olive’s friend Morton is still trapped inside Elsewhere. So when Rutherford, the new oddball kid next door mentions a grimoire—a spellbook—Olive sees a glint of hope. If she can find the McMartins’ spellbook, maybe she can help Morton escape Elsewhere for good. Unless, that is, the book finds Olive first.

The house isn’t the only one keeping secrets anymore. You’ll never guess what happens next in this thrilling, chilling fantasy series, perfect for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap.
Book 1
For fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap comes the first book in the award-winning, New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series.

This house is keeping secrets . . .

When eleven-year-old Olive and her parents move into the crumbling mansion on Linden Street and find it filled with mysterious paintings, Olive knows the place is creepy—but it isn’t until she encounters its three talking cats that she realizes there’s something darkly magical afoot. Then Olive finds a pair of antique spectacles in a dusty drawer and discovers the most peculiar thing yet: She can travel inside the house’s spooky paintings to a world that’s strangely quiet . . . and eerily sinister. But in entering Elsewhere, Olive has been ensnared in a mystery darker and more dangerous than she could have imagined, confronting a power that wants to be rid of her by any means necessary. With only the cats and an unusual boy she meets in Elsewhere on her side, it’s up to Olive to save the house from the shadows, before the lights go out for good.
Back to Top