Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

The Dove Chronicles Series

Karen Bao
A hundred years from now, Earth’s surviving inhabitants float across the drowned planet on roving island nations, making war over meagre resources. Meanwhile, on the Moon, a colony founded by scientists decades earlier thrives. The motto of the Lunar Bases is “Only here is mankind free”—but is it true? And what is the cost of that freedom? For the quiet but brilliant Phaet Theta, finding out the answer could jeopardize her career, her family, and even her life. A sci-fi series full of suspense and danger that draws from our past and reveals what could lie in our future.



 by

Book
$

The Dove Chronicles Series : Titles in Order

Book 3
The action-packed finale of this explosive sci-fi series for fans of Ender’s Game and Star Wars.

Shy, introverted Phaet Theta has gone from being a top student to an interplanetary fugitive to the reluctant but fierce leader of a revolution. With the Earthbound on their side, she and her friends finally have a chance at toppling the evil leaders who’ve held the Moon captive for decades. But as the death tolls rise, the cost of the war weighs heavily on Phaet, even as she’s forced to lead her siblings and Wes, the love of her life, into terrible danger.

Phaet started this war because she lost someone she loved. Will she have to lose another to end it?
Book 2
The thrilling sequel to Dove Arising, featuring “a brilliant new YA heroine in a world of true science fiction.” (Bustle.com)

Phaet Theta is a fugitive. Hiding in plain sight with her friend Wes’s family on the drowned planet Earth, Phaet discovers the rugged beauty of the world her ancestors once called home. All her life, she’s been taught to fear the “Earthbound,” and their generosity and kindness surprise and touch Phaet.
 
But when the Lunar Bases attack Wes’s isolated village, Phaet’s past catches up with her, and she’s forced to choose: stay on Earth and fight beside the boy she’s falling for, or stow away on a Moon-bound ship so she can save her brother and sister from the government that killed their mother.
 
This dramatic follow-up to Dove Arising plunges readers deeper into a complex and haunting world where freedom comes at a chilling price.
Book 1
Phaet Theta has lived her whole life in a colony on the Moon. She’s barely spoken since her father died in an accident nine years ago. She cultivates the plants in Greenhouse 22, lets her best friend talk for her, and stays off the government’s radar.

Then her mother is arrested.

The only way to save her younger siblings from the degrading Shelter is by enlisting in the Militia, the faceless army that polices the Lunar bases and protects them from attacks by desperate Earth-dwellers. Training is brutal, but it’s where Phaet forms an uneasy but meaningful alliance with the preternaturally accomplished Wes, a fellow outsider.

Rank high, save her siblings, free her mom:  that’s the plan. Until Phaet’s logically ordered world begins to crumble…

Suspenseful, intelligent, and hauntingly prescient, Dove Arising stands on the shoulders of our greatest tales of the future to tell a story that is all too relevant today.
Back to Top