Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

The Mapmakers Trilogy Series

S. E. Grove
In 1799, the Great Disruption took place, and the world’s continents were suddenly transported to different time periods. Now, almost one hundred years later, 13-year-old Sophia Tims—daughter of long-lost explorers, and niece of the foremost cartologer in Boston—must venture beyond the New England that she knows, crossing the world on a search for those she loves. This is The Mapmakers Trilogy.
 by

Book
$

The Mapmakers Trilogy Series : Titles in Order

Book 3
The thrilling conclusion to S. E. Grove’s New York Times–bestselling Mapmakers Trilogy—a historical, fantastical adventure perfect for fans of Philip Pullman!

It is late August 1892, and Sophia Tims is coming home from a foreign Age, having risked her life in search of her missing parents. Now she is aboard ship, with a hard-earned, cryptic map that may help her find them at long last.

But her homecoming is anything but peaceful. Threatening clouds hang over New Orleans harbor. Sinkholes have been opening in Boston, swallowing parts of the city whole. Rogue weirwinds tear up the Baldlands. Worst of all, New Occident is at war, led by a prime minister who will do anything to expand the country westward. He has blackmailed Sophia’s beloved uncle Shadrack into drawing the battle maps that will lead countless men and boys—including Sophia’s best friend, Theo—to their deaths.

As Sophia puzzles out her next move, Shadrack is peeling back layers of government intrigue, and Theo is bracing himself to fight. A red fog of war is rising, and New Occident’s future hangs in the balance . . .


* “A triumphant conclusion to a prodigious feat of storytelling.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* “A sharply creative, engrossing trilogy . . . Grove’s imaginative world building continues to dazzle in this third entry . . . An enormously satisfying wrap-up.”–BCCB, starred review 
Book 2
For fans of The Golden Compass, this is book two in the Mapmakers Trilogy and follow-up to S.E. Grove’s stunning debut, The Glass Sentence

It is the summer of 1892, one year since Sophia Tims and her friend Theo embarked upon the dangerous adventure that rewrote the map of the world. Since their return home to Boston, she has continued searching for clues to her parents’ disappearance, combing archives and libraries, grasping at even the most slender leads. Theo has apprenticed himself to an explorer in order to follow those leads across the country—but one after another proves to be a dead end.

Then Sophia discovers that a crucial piece of the puzzle exists in a foreign Age. At the same time, Theo discovers that his old life outside the law threatens to destroy the new one he has built with Sophia and her uncle Shadrack. What he and Sophia do not know is that their separate discoveries are intertwined, and that one remarkable person is part of both.

There is a city that holds all of the answers—but it cannot be found on any map. Surrounded by plague, it can only be reached by a journey through darkness and chaos, which is at the same time the plague’s cure: The Golden Specific.


“This delicious blend of magic, history, and science will continue to delight fans of intricate world-building and rich storytelling.”—School Library Journal

“Readers who have already read the first installment will gladly savor another journey with Sophia and marvel at the worlds they enter. Brilliantly imagined and full of wonder.”—Kirkus Reviews 
Book 1
For fans of The Golden Compass, this New York Times bestseller will take you on a fantastic journey across worlds and time.
 
Boston, 1891. Sophia Tims comes from a family of explorers and cartologers who, for generations, have been traveling and mapping the New World—a world changed by the Great Disruption of 1799, when all the continents were flung into different time periods. Eight years ago, Sophia’s parents left her with her uncle Shadrack, the foremost cartologer in Boston, and went on an urgent mission. They never returned.

Then Shadrack is kidnapped. Sophia must search for him with the help of Theo, a refugee from the West. Together they travel over rough terrain and uncharted ocean, encounter pirates and traders, and rely on a combination of Shadrack’s maps, common sense, and Sophia’s unusual powers of observation. Little do they know that their lives are in as much danger as Shadrack’s.


A New York Times Bestseller!“I am in no doubt about the energy of S.E. Grove as a full-fledged, pathfinding fantasist. I look forward to the next installment to place upon the pile. Intensely.”—Gregory Maguire, The New York Times Book Review

* “Wholly original and marvelous beyond compare.”—Kirkus Reviews, starred review 
Back to Top