Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

After-School Superstars Series

Claudia Mills and Grace Zong
Vera Vance: Comics Star by Claudia Mills
Coming soon ON 03-17-20

Vera Vance: Comics Star

Book 2
Hardcover $15.99

After-School Superstars Series : Titles in Order

Book 3
Talented Lucy Lopez finds her passion when she joins an after-school coding camp, but can her older sister come to terms with their shared hobby?

Third-grader Lucy Lopez and her older sister Elena created the Let’s Have Fun Club, where they designed their own badges to put in a handbook and make up lists of things they have to do to earn each one.

But now Elena is spending most of her time coding on the computer and Lucy feels left out. She decides to join the after-school coding camp in the hopes that Elena will want to add it to their Let’s Have Fun Club activities and it can be something they can do together. But when Lucy proves to be a natural, Elena is none too happy–why does Lucy have to do everything she does?

Parents and kids on the hunt for a fun and informative book about coding need look no further. The series includes Lucy Lopez: Coding Star, Nixie Ness: Cooking Star, and Vera Vance: Comic Book Star in the After-School Superstars series. Perfect for fans of Judy Moody, Ivy and Bean, and Clementine, this new chapter book series features recurring characters, and each book highlights one activity they do at their after-school program. The books are illustrated in black and white and include a bonus activity that corresponds to the book’s plot. Lucy Lopez is being simultaneously released in Hardcover.
Book 2
Third grader Vera Vance has signed up for the comics camp after-school program, but her mother would much rather she focus on academics, athletics, music. . . anything but comics!

Vera loves all things comic books, so she can’t wait for the comics after-school class to start–even though her mother wonders whether it’s educational enough. But Vera is determined to participate, and starts developing her own comic about Big Spoon and Little Spoon with the encouragement of her enthusiastic friend Nixie and instruction from teachers who are accomplished cartoonists themselves.

As the weeks go by, the after-school teachers announce that for the final class, students will go on a field trip to a local comic-con–and they can even enter a page from their comics in a contest that will be judged there! Vera isn’t surprised when her mother says she can’t go. But maybe Big Spoon and Little Spoon can convince her mother to accept her passion.

Vera Vance: Comics Star follows Nixie Ness: Cooking Star in the After-School Superstars chapter book series. Perfect for fans of Judy Moody, Ivy and Bean, and Clementine, the series is illustrated in black and white and each book includes a bonus activity that corresponds to the book’s plot.

A Junior Library Guild Selection!
Book 1
Best friends Nixie and Grace spend every afternoon together . . . until Nixie’s mom gets a new job and Nixie must attend the after-school program, without Grace.

Third graders Nixie Ness and Grace Kenny have been best friends since they were two-years-old. They have always spent every afternoon after school at Nixie’s house until Nixie’s mom announces that she has a job, which means she won’t be there to watch the girls after school, which means Nixie will have to go to the after-school program and Grace will be spending her afternoons at their classmate, Elyse’s, house.

Nixie begrudgingly starts the after-school program, joining the cooking camp. And it turns out that the other children at cooking camp are nice, and the recipes they make are delicious. But Nixie can’t really enjoy being an after-school superstar until she finds a way to overcome her jealousy about Grace and Elyse’s budding friendship.

Perfect for fans of Judy Moody, Ivy and Bean, and Clementine, this new chapter book series features recurring characters, and each book will highlight one activity they do at their after-school program. The books are illustrated in black and white and include a bonus activity that corresponds to the book’s plot. Nixie Ness: Cooking Star features a recipe for morning glory muffins. The next book in the After-School Superstars series, Vera Vance: Comics Star, is scheduled for release in Spring 2020.
Back to Top