Click to receive personalized book recommendations daily.
Check Out These
Holiday Gift Ideas for Book Lovers
Go to Gift Guide

The Great Brain Series

Found in Children’s Middle Grade Books
Set in the early 1900s, these are the humorous tales of the Fitzgerald Brothers—especially Tom  better known as The Great Brain, for his ability to come up with money- making schemes—and get into big trouble. 

The Great Brain books in order:
The Great Brain
More Adventures of the Great Brain
Me and My Little Brain
The Great Brain at the Academy
The Great Brain Reforms
The Return of the Great Brain
The Great Brain Does It Again
The Great Brain is Back
The Great Brain by John D. Fitzgerald
The Great Brain Reforms by John D. Fitzgerald
The Great Brain Is Back by John D. Fitzgerald

The Great Brain Series : Titles in Order

Book 8
This classic trickster is back again, and he’s up to no good in his eighth and final book of the series. Great mix of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

Tom D. Fitzgerald–better known as The Great Brain–has turned thirteen, and pretty Polly Reagan has put a spell on him. But when it comes to swindling his younger brother J. D., and all the other kids in Adenville, Tom hasn’t changed a bit. The Great Brain is back one more time, and he’s at the top of his form with his money-making schemes and getting into big trouble. As always, life is more exciting when this brain’s around!
Book 7
This fifth book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

It’s summer vacation, and  J. D. is determined to reform his older brother Tom, a.k.a. the Great Brain, from his money swindling ways for good.
Book 6
This seventh book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

Here he goes again! Tom, a.k.a. the Great Brain, comes up with many more schemes, most of them concerned with earning money.
Book 5
This fourth book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

Everyone knew that Tom Fitzgerald, better known as the Great Brain, would get into trouble when he went off to boarding school at the strict Catholic Academy for Boys. But no one–including Tom–knew just how much! Whether he’s running an illegal candy store or earning a reputation as the fastest potato peeler, Tom’s great brain never faltersm while his money-making schemes rise to new heights!
Book 4
This sixth book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

Tom Fitzgerald, better known as the Great Brain, is struggling to stay reformed now that his friends have threatened to shut him out if he pulls even one more swindle. But his younger brother J.D. knows Tom’s reformation makes for a dull life, and is not altogether unhappy–or blameless–when his brother’s money-loving heart stealthily retums to business as usual.
Book 3
This third book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

Tom a.k.a. the Great Brain, is off to boarding school.  Now his little brother, J.D., is free to follow in Tom’s ingenious, conniving, and profitable footsteps.  All of J.D.’s attempts at turning a profit fail miserably, and he soon realizes that he just doesn’t have that crafty Great Brain knack.  But when his younger brother is kidnapped, J.D. finds that his little brain may not be so ordinary after all . . .
Book 2
People in Adenville are breathing a sigh of relief. It seems that Tom D. Fitzgerald, the Great Brain, has truly reformed. For months, not one kid has been swindled and not one stunt has been pulled. But when he gets a new bike for Christmas, the Great Brain heads full speed into his old ways. And this time his ideas are bigger than ever. He puts all of Adenville in fear of a prehistoric beast from Skeleton Cave, solves a mysterious bank robbery, and captures the ghost of Silverload Mine. Don’t look now–the Great Brain is at it again!
Book 2
This second book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

Has Tom, a.k.a. the Great Brain, given up his con-artist ways for a bicycle?  Not for long.  Soon the Great Brain is back to his old tricks, swindling and trading, and even convincing the whole town there’s a prehistoric monster on the loose. But when someone robs the bank, even the police are stumped.  Can the Great Brain solve the crime and put the crooks behind bars?
Book 1
The Great Brain is Tom D. Fitzgerald, aged ten. The story is told by J.D., a sometimes confounded but always admiring younger brother. Such people as Mr. Standish, the mean schoolmaster, regret the day they came up against The Great Brain. But others, like the Jensen kids lost in Skeleton Cave, Basil, the Greek kid, or Andy, who has lost his leg and his friends, know that Tom’s great brain never fails to find a way home.


From the Trade Paperback edition.
Book 1
This first book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

The best con man in the Midwest is only ten years old.  Tom, a.k.a., the Great Brain, is a silver-tongued genius with a knack for turning a profit.  When the Jenkins boys get lost in Skeleton Cave, the Great Brain saves the day.  Whether it’s saving the kids at school, or helping out Peg-leg Andy, or Basil, the new kid at school, the Great Brain always manages to come out on top-and line his pockets in the process.
Back to Top