Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List

The Triple Threat Series

John Feinstein
The Walk On (The Triple Threat, 1) by John Feinstein
The Sixth Man (The Triple Threat, 2) by John Feinstein
The DH (The Triple Threat, 3) by John Feinstein

The Triple Threat Series : Titles in Order

Book 3
Perfect for baseball lovers and fans of Mike Lupica, book three in the Triple Threat series by New York Times bestselling sports writer John Feinstein explores what happens when athletes break the rules. 
 
Alex Myers’s football and basketball seasons were mired in controversy, and his dad’s been MIA since his parents split up. All Alex wants this spring is to work on his fastball and hang out with his maybe-girlfriend, Christine. But he runs into unexpected competition on both fronts.
 
Matt Gordon was suspended from sports after he admitted taking PEDs during football season, but the athletic board has decided to give him another chance. So he’s on the team—and he’s got something to prove. He’s also got his eye on Christine. The question this season—is all fair in love and baseball? Or are some things truly foul?
 
Filled with action, intrigue, and intense rivalries, The DH and the other books in the Triple Threat series follow the ups and downs of one talented athlete’s year in sports. 
 
Praise for book one in the Triple Threat series, The Walk On:
“All the goods for the sports enthusiast—and more.” —Kirkus Reviews
 
“Full of refreshingly decent high school students, first crushes, a dose of dating drama, and a cliff-hanger ending, The Walk On will interest even non-football fans.” —School Library Journal
 
Praise for book two in the Triple Threat series, The Sixth Man: 
“Suspenseful and well-dramatized sports action scenes. . . . Solidly drawn, both on and off the court.” —Kirkus Reviews
Book 2
Perfect for sports-loving kids and fans of books by Mike Lupica, book two in the Triple Threat series by New York Times bestselling author John Feinstein delivers a hard-hitting account of prejudice and perseverance on the basketball court.
 
It’s basketball season. And for once, triple threat Alex Myers is not the one in the spotlight. There’s a new new guy in town, Max Bellotti—and he promises to turn the Lions’ losing streak around and lead the team to a conference title.
 
Alex is psyched, but some of the older guys on the team resent being benched in favor of an upstart freshman. And when Max comes out as gay, not everyone takes the news in stride. Snide comments and cold shoulders escalate into heated protests and an out-and-out war with the school board. While controversy swirls around them, the Lions have to decide: Will personal issues sink their season, or can they find a way to stand together as a team?
 
John Feinstein has been praised as “the best writer of sports books in America today” (The Boston Globe). This second installment in his Triple Threat series delivers action and intensity, and a look beyond the headlines of a hot-button topic in sports today.

“Suspenseful and well-dramatized sports action scenes. . . . Solidly drawn, both on and off the court.” —Kirkus Reviews
 
“The realistic social situations are interspersed with sports strategy, practices, and
plenty of action. Fans will cheer for more of Alex’s story as he inches closer to spring and the dugout.” —Booklist
Book 1
Bestselling sportswriter John Feinstein kicks off a new series for middle grade featuring Alex Myers, a student athlete who tries to take on the sports establishment in his new town.
 
Alex Myers is a quarterback, but from the first day of football practice, it’s clear that that position is very much filled by the coach’s son, Matt.
 
Alex has the better arm, but Matt has more experience—and the coach’s loyalty. Alex finally gets a chance to show what he can do when Matt is injured, and he helps win a key game to keep the Lions’ bid for the state championship alive. But just when his star is rising, Alex gets blindsided—the state has started drug testing, and Alex’s test comes back positive for steroids. Alex knows that’s not right. But he doesn’t know if it’s a mistake—or if someone wants to make sure he can’t play. . . .
 
John Feinstein has been praised as “the best writer of sports books in America today” (The Boston Globe), and this first installment in the Triple Threat series is his most thrilling and suspenseful novel yet. Fans of Mike Lupica, Tim Green, and Paul Volponi will want to check out The Walk On, and its companion, The Sixth Man.
 
“A cliffhanger of a football novel bristling with social, personal, familial and ethical issues to complement the gridiron action. . . . All the goods for the sports enthusiast—and more.” —Kirkus Reviews
Back to Top