Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

Cookie Chronicles Series

Matthew Swanson and Robbi Behr
Ben Yokoyama and the Cookie of Doom by Matthew Swanson
Coming soon (06-28-22)

Ben Yokoyama and the Cookie of Doom

Book 1
Paperback $7.99

Cookie Chronicles Series : Titles in Order

Book 5
It’s a cookie catastrophe when Ben receives five conflicting fortunes and doesn’t know which advice to follow! Another hilarious Cookie Chronicles adventure that middle grade readers who love Wimpy Kid and Dog Man will gobble up with gusto.


When Ben finds a lost wallet, he’s determined to do the right thing instead of spending the money on sweets. But what is the right thing? Ben seeks the guidance of one fortune cookie after another—but none of the fortunes make sense!
 
In his chaotic quest to track down the wallet’s owner, Ben puzzles his way through five baffling fortunes in rapid succession while feuding with a vengeful librarian; battling a terrifying toilet; and gaining a new appreciation for ducks, cardamom, and his best friend Janet.

From the husband-and-wife, author-and-illustrator duo that brought you Ben Yokoyama and the Cookie of Doom comes a tale about trusting your heart when your head can’t make sense of things.
Book 4
Justice is sweet when a school bully gets a taste of his own medicine. A hilarious new Cookie Chronicles adventure that middle-school readers who love Wimpy Kid and Dog Man will gobble up with gusto.


“Impossible to resist.” —Lincoln Peirce, New York Times bestselling author of Big Nate.
 
When Ben’s fortune cookie tells him that the best things in life are free, he believes he can get anything he wants without paying for it—as long as it’s the best. But Ben’s dreams of free cookies and fancy scooters are quickly dashed when schoolyard bully Flegg McEggars steals his fortune.
 
Ben will stop at nothing to get his fortune back, but bringing the thief to justice will be no easy feat. He has to lawyer up, gather witnesses, and present his case to the fifth graders in Kid Court. Along the way, Ben learns that crime comes in many forms and the real villains are not always the people we first suspect.
 
From the husband-and-wife, author-and-illustrator duo that brought you Ben Yokoyama and the Cookie of Doom comes a tale of truth, justice, and the pursuit of cookies.
Book 3
Practice makes perfect, and Ben Yokoyama will settle for nothing less than perfection! A hilarious new Cookie Chronicles adventure that fans of Wimpy Kid or Dog Man will gobble up with gusto.

When Ben’s fortune cookie tells him that practice makes perfect, he refuses to settle for anything less. He demands better parents, superior hobbies, and a brand-new best friend, who might technically be a superhero.

The pursuit of perfection is thrilling until Ben is forced to give up the things he loves most–including baseball, personal integrity, and his dog’s enthusiastic kisses. Life lessons from a goldfish and a spine-tingling near-death experience help Ben realize that his flaws are also the keys to his greatest strengths–and that the people and things that make him happiest will always be perfectly imperfect.
Book 2
“Great characters, hilarious jokes… a joy to read.” —Lincoln Peirce, New York Times bestselling author of Big Nate series
 
Literal-minded Ben cracks open a fortune cookie and it tells him that he can have anything he wants, if only he’s willing to wait… A madcap adventure about the perils of patience, for fans of DIARY OF A WIMPY KID or THE TERRIBLE TWO.

Good things come to those who wait.

Ben does his best to heed his fortune cookie’s advice, and as a result he is paired with Walter–the kid who’s always picked last–for a school scavenger hunt. Working with Walter must be a good thing if the cookie said so, but so far all he does is talk too loud and recite obscure facts about feet. Meanwhile, Ben has an argument with his best friend Janet, and waiting for her to apologize first isn’t going so well…. But eventually, Ben’s patience starts paying off: if he and Walter are able to pull out a win in the scavenger hunt, they’ll earn a half-day of recess for the whole school! Waiting may not always be a good thing, but taking the time to listen and consider all options isn’t half bad.
Book 1
“This is my favorite book of the year.” —Lincoln Peirce, New York Times bestselling author of Big Nate series
 
Meet Ben, a literal-minded kid with a big heart and an even bigger sweet-tooth, who cracks open a fortune cookie and discovers that TODAY might be his last day on Earth! Perfect for fans of DIARY OF A WIMPY KID or THE TERRIBLE TWO.

Live each day as if it were your last.

When Ben reads his fortune-cookie fortune, he’s alarmed and inspired. Immediately, he begins drafting a bucket list of unfinished tasks and lifelong dreams (finish his 1000-piece model of the Taj Mahal, eat an entire cake, etc….). As Ben marches himself in and out of trouble, takes useful risks, and helps both his parents to see the bigger picture, readers discover how something that seems scary can instead be empowering–leading to friendships that might never have been made, neighbors that might never have been known, and apple pies that might otherwise never have been baked.

Find other titles in

Back to Top