Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
mobile banner image
The ReadDown

What To Read After Watching The Mandalorian

Finished season 2 of The Mandalorian? Check out these great Star Wars books to dive into the stories, characters, locations, events, and more that inspired the epic second season of the hit series. The first five books focus on Grand Admiral Thrawn, who is the classic villain hunted by the character Ahsoka Tano in the series. The next book dives into the backstory of Ahsoka Tano herself. The last three books on the list explore the galaxy after the destruction of the second Death Star, including the origins of “The Marshal” Cobb Vanth as seen in the season premiere.

  1. 1
    Thrawn (Star Wars) Book Cover Picture
    Thrawn (Star Wars) Book Cover Picture

    Thrawn (Star Wars)

    by Timothy Zahn

    One of the most cunning and ruthless warriors in the history of the Galactic Empire, Grand Admiral Thrawn is also one of the most captivating characters in the Star Wars universe. But Thrawn’s origins and the story of his rise in the Imperial ranks have remained mysterious. Now, in Star Wars: Thrawn, Timothy Zahn chronicles the fateful events that launched the blue-skinned, red-eyed master of military strategy and lethal warfare into the highest realms of power—and infamy.
    Thrawn (Star Wars) Book Cover Picture
    Thrawn (Star Wars) Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $28.99

    Also available from:

  2. 2
    Thrawn: Alliances (Star Wars) Book Cover Picture
    Thrawn: Alliances (Star Wars) Book Cover Picture

    Thrawn: Alliances (Star Wars)

    by Timothy Zahn

    “I have sensed a disturbance in the Force.”  Ominous words under any circumstances, but all the more so when uttered by Emperor Palpatine. On Batuu, at the edges of the Unknown Regions, a threat to the Empire is taking root that is troubling enough to the Imperial leader to warrant investigation by his most powerful agents: ruthless enforcer Lord Darth Vader and brilliant strategist Grand Admiral Thrawn. The formidable pair seem unlikely partners for such a crucial mission. But the Emperor knows it’s not the first time Vader and Thrawn have joined forces. And there’s more behind his royal command than either man suspects.
    Thrawn: Alliances (Star Wars) Book Cover Picture
    Thrawn: Alliances (Star Wars) Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $28.99

    Also available from:

  3. 3
    Thrawn: Treason (Star Wars) Book Cover Picture
    Thrawn: Treason (Star Wars) Book Cover Picture

    Thrawn: Treason (Star Wars)

    by Timothy Zahn

    Thrawn has been one of the Empire’s most effective instruments, pursuing its enemies to the very edges of the known galaxy. As Thrawn’s TIE defender program is halted in favor of Director Krennic’s secret Death Star project, he realizes that the balance of power in the Empire is measured by more than just military acumen or tactical efficiency. As Thrawn works to secure his place in the Imperial hierarchy, his former protégé Eli Vanto returns with a dire warning about Thrawn’s homeworld. Thrawn’s mastery of strategy must guide him through an impossible choice: duty to the Chiss Ascendancy, or fealty to the Empire he has sworn to serve. Even if the right choice means committing treason.
    Thrawn: Treason (Star Wars) Book Cover Picture
    Thrawn: Treason (Star Wars) Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $28.99

    Also available from:

  4. 4
    Star Wars: Thrawn Ascendancy (Book I: Chaos Rising) Book Cover Picture
    Star Wars: Thrawn Ascendancy (Book I: Chaos Rising) Book Cover Picture

    Star Wars: Thrawn Ascendancy (Book I: Chaos Rising)

    by Timothy Zahn

    Beyond the edge of the galaxy lies the Unknown Regions: chaotic, uncharted, and near impassable, with hidden secrets and dangers in equal measure. And nestled within its swirling chaos is the Ascendancy, home to the enigmatic Chiss and the Nine Ruling Families that lead them. The peace of the Ascendancy, a beacon of calm and stability, is shattered after a daring attack on the Chiss capital that leaves no trace of the enemy. Baffled, the Ascendancy dispatches one of its brightest young military officers to root out the unseen assailants. A recruit born of no title, but adopted into the powerful family of the Mitth and given the name Thrawn.
    Star Wars: Thrawn Ascendancy (Book I: Chaos Rising) Book Cover Picture
    Star Wars: Thrawn Ascendancy (Book I: Chaos Rising) Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $28.99

    Also available from:

  5. 5
    Star Wars: Thrawn Ascendancy (Book II: Greater Good) Book Cover Picture
    Star Wars: Thrawn Ascendancy (Book II: Greater Good) Book Cover Picture

    Star Wars: Thrawn Ascendancy (Book II: Greater Good)

    by Timothy Zahn

    Thrawn’s latest triumph still rests newly on his shoulders. He has led the Chiss to victory and brought glory to the House of Mitth, but the true threat to the Ascendancy has not yet been extinguished. Across the Ascendancy, seemingly inconsequential events could herald the doom of the Chiss. As Thrawn and the Expansionary Defense Fleet rally to uncover the plot, they discover a chilling truth: Rather than invade Chiss capitals or pillage resources, their enemy strikes at the very foundation of the Ascendancy, seeking to widen the rifts between the Nine Ruling Families and the Forty Great Houses below.
    Star Wars: Thrawn Ascendancy (Book II: Greater Good) Book Cover Picture
    Star Wars: Thrawn Ascendancy (Book II: Greater Good) Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $28.99

    Also available from:

  6. 6
    Star Wars Ahsoka Book Cover Picture
    Star Wars Ahsoka Book Cover Picture

    Star Wars Ahsoka

    by E.K. Johnston

    Fans have long wondered what happened to Ahsoka after she left the Jedi Order near the end of the Clone Wars, and before she re-appeared as the mysterious Rebel operative Fulcrum in Rebels. Finally, her story will begin to be told. Following her experiences with the Jedi and the devastation of Order 66, Ahsoka is unsure she can be part of a larger whole ever again. But her desire to fight the evils of the Empire and protect those who need it will lead her right to Bail Organa, and the Rebel Alliance.
    Star Wars Ahsoka Book Cover Picture
    Star Wars Ahsoka Book Cover Picture

    Available from:

  7. 7
    Aftermath: Star Wars Book Cover Picture
    Aftermath: Star Wars Book Cover Picture

    Aftermath: Star Wars

    by Chuck Wendig

    As the Empire reels from its critical defeats at the Battle of Endor, the Rebel Alliance presses its advantage by hunting down the enemy’s scattered forces before they can regroup and retaliate. But above the remote planet Akiva, an ominous show of the enemy’s strength is unfolding. Out on a lone reconnaissance mission, pilot Wedge Antilles watches Imperial Star Destroyers gather like birds of prey circling for a kill, but he’s taken captive before he can report back to the New Republic leaders. Meanwhile, on the planet’s surface, former rebel fighter Norra Wexley has returned to her native world. But when Norra intercepts Wedge Antilles’s urgent distress call, she realizes her time as a freedom fighter is not yet over.
    Aftermath: Star Wars Book Cover Picture
    Aftermath: Star Wars Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $28.00

    Also available from:

  8. 8
    Life Debt: Aftermath (Star Wars) Book Cover Picture
    Life Debt: Aftermath (Star Wars) Book Cover Picture

    Life Debt: Aftermath (Star Wars)

    by Chuck Wendig

    The Emperor is dead, and the remnants of his former Empire are in retreat. As the New Republic fights to restore a lasting peace to the galaxy, some dare to imagine new beginnings and new destinies. For Han Solo, that means settling his last outstanding debt, by helping Chewbacca liberate the Wookiee’s homeworld of Kashyyyk. Meanwhile, Norra Wexley and her band of Imperial hunters pursue Grand Admiral Rae Sloane and the Empire’s remaining leadership across the galaxy. Even as more and more officers are brought to justice, Sloane continues to elude the New Republic, and Norra fears Sloane may be searching for a means to save the crumbling Empire from oblivion. But the hunt for Sloane is cut short when Norra receives an urgent request from Princess Leia Organa. The attempt to liberate Kashyyyk has carried Han Solo, Chewbacca, and a band of smugglers into an ambush—resulting in Chewie’s capture and Han’s disappearance.
    Life Debt: Aftermath (Star Wars) Book Cover Picture
    Life Debt: Aftermath (Star Wars) Book Cover Picture

    Mass Market Paperback
    $9.99

    Also available from:

  9. 9
    Empire's End: Aftermath (Star Wars) Book Cover Picture
    Empire's End: Aftermath (Star Wars) Book Cover Picture

    Empire’s End: Aftermath (Star Wars)

    by Chuck Wendig

    As the final showdown between the New Republic and the Empire draws near, all eyes turn to a once-isolated planet: Jakku. The Battle of Endor shattered the Empire, scattering its remaining forces across the galaxy. The fledgling New Republic has suffered a devastating attack from the Imperial remnant, forcing the new democracy to escalate its hunt for the hidden enemy. For her role in the deadly ambush, Grand Admiral Rae Sloane is the most wanted Imperial war criminal—and one-time rebel pilot Norra Wexley, back in service at Leia’s urgent request, is leading the hunt. But more than just loyalty to the New Republic drives Norra forward: Her husband was turned into a murderous pawn in Sloane’s assassination plot, and now she wants vengeance as much as justice.
    Empire's End: Aftermath (Star Wars) Book Cover Picture
    Empire's End: Aftermath (Star Wars) Book Cover Picture

    Hardcover
    $28.99

    Also available from:

Find other titles in

Related Lists:

Back to Top