Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)

Aleksandr Afanas’ev


About the Author

ALEKSANDR AFANAS’EV (1826-1871) published his groundbreaking collection of Russian folktales and fairy tales in eight volumes, from 1855 to 1867. His success in polarizing Russian folklore and culture is reflected in the work of writers and composers from Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov to Igor Stravinsky. He first published Russian Fairy Tales with Pantheon Books in 1945.

Sign me up for news about Aleksandr Afanas’ev and more from Penguin Random House

Books by Aleksandr Afanas’ev

More Series From Aleksandr Afanas’ev

The Pantheon Fairy Tale and Folklore Library

Be the first to know!
We’ll send you the latest updates about Aleksandr Afanas’ev
We’ll send you the latest updates about Aleksandr Afanas’ev
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use and understand that Penguin Random House collects certain categories of personal information for the purposes listed in that policy, discloses, sells, or shares certain personal information and retains personal information in accordance with the policy. You can opt-out of the sale or sharing of personal information anytime.
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top