Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

Eugene O’Neill


About the Author

Eugene O’Neill (1888–1953) is one of the most significant forces in the history of American theater. With no uniquely American tradition to guide him, O’Neill introduced various dramatic techniques, which subsequently became staples of the US theater. By 1914 he had written 12 one-act and two long plays. Of this early work, only Thirst and Other One Act Plays (1914) was originally published. From this point on, O’Neill’s work falls roughly into three phases: the early plays, written from 1914 to 1921 (The Long Voyage HomeThe Moon of the CaribbeesBeyond the HorizonAnna Christie); a variety of full-length plays for Broadway (Desire Under the ElmsGreat God BrownAh, Wilderness!); and the last, great plays, written between 1938 and his death (The Iceman ComethA Moon for the Misbegotten). O’Neill is a four-time Pulitzer Prize winner, and he was awarded the Nobel Prize in literature in 1936.

Sign me up for news about Eugene O’Neill and more from Penguin Random House

More Series From Eugene O’Neill

Vintage International

Be the first to know!
We’ll send you the latest updates from Eugene O’Neill
We’ll send you the latest updates from Eugene O’Neill
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top