Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

Salman Rushdie

Photo of Salman Rushdie

Photo: © Rachel Eliza Griffiths

About the Author

Salman Rushdie is the author of twelve novels—Grimus, Midnight’s Children (for which he won the Booker Prize and the Best of the Booker), Shame, The Satanic Verses, Haroun and The Sea of Stories, The Moor’s Last Sigh, The Ground Beneath Her Feet, Fury, Shalimar the Clown, The Enchantress of Florence, Luka and the Fire of Life, and Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights—and one collection of short stories: East, West. He has also published four works of nonfiction—Joseph Anton, The Jaguar Smile, Imaginary Homelands, and Step Across This Line—and co-edited two anthologies, Mirrorwork and Best American Short Stories 2008. He is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters and a Distinguished Writer in Residence at New York University. A former president of PEN American Center, Rushdie was knighted in 2007 for services to literature.

Sign me up for news about Salman Rushdie and more from Penguin Random House

Salman Rushdie Also Contributed To

Books by Salman Rushdie published by PRH Grupo Editorial


Salman Rushdie in conversation with Angela Ledgerwood | Random House Off the Page

Connect with Salman Rushdie

Be the first to know!
We’ll send you the latest updates from Salman Rushdie
We’ll send you the latest updates from Salman Rushdie
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top